Cork Con FC 1st XV 37 - 11 Garryowen
Venue: Templehill
Competition: All Ireland League Div.1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution turned the tables on old Munster rivals Garryowen in no uncertain manner at Templehill on Saturday. Last week Garryowen won a hard-earned 24-17 victory at Dooradoyle, but this week Constitution won a very decisive victory. They led 17-6 at half-time and went on to score a fourth try to gain a vital bonus point in the context of a very tight League table.


Max Abbott got a 4th minute touch down following a 5-metre lineout and consequent maul. Tomas Quinlan kick the conversion for 7-0. However, Neil Cronin kicked penalties for Garryowen in the 8th and 14th minutes, before Tomas Quinlan added a similar effort for the homeside in the 18th minute for 10-6.


Joe McSweeney led a charge on the visitor’s line in the 23rd minute, that ended with a try for Max Abbott, again converted by Quinlan for 17-6, as the home side squeezed the opposition. And it could have been more at the break, only for Quinlan to hit a post with a 32nd minute penalty.


But Quinlan was back on target with a 47th minute penalty awarded for a high tackle, and again on 55 minutes for 23-6. His namesake, Brendan Quinlan led a charge to the line in the 68th minute that ended with a try for skipper Conor Kindregan. Quinlan’s conversion brought up the 30 points mark.


Garryowen hit back with an unconverted try by Lorcan Bourke in the 78th minute, but Constitution finished with a bonus-point penalty try in the final minute following a 22 metre scrum that was driven to the goal line. And Quinlan’s conversion gave the home side an emphatic victory.


E.Hogan-O’Connell IRFU

Con Players:

G.Higgins; J.J.O’Neill, N.Hodson, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; T.Quinlan, G.Hurley; B.Quinlan, M.Abbott, G.Sweeney; B.Hayes, C.Kindregan Capt.; G.Lawler, R.O’Neill, J.McSwiney. Replacements: G.Duffy, D.Murphy (3), S.Duffy (1), J.Higgins (11), D.A.Moynihan (12)


Con Scorers:

M.Abbott 2T; C.Kindregan 1T; T.Quinlan 3PT1P4C.

Garryowen Players:

L.Burke; B.Fitzgerald, A.O’Byrne, D.McCarthy, L.Barrett; J.Gavin, N.Cronin (C); B.McNamara, L.Cronin, A.Keating; T.Ferguson, D.Moore; M.Rowley, M.Wilson, S.Rennison. Replacements: N.O’Shea, B.McNamara (1); A.McCloskey (4; D.Ryan (6); A.Rice (9)

Garryowen Scorers:

L.Bourke 1T; N.Cronin 2P

Cork Constitution FC