Cork Con FC 1st XV 19 - 20 Young Munster RFC
Venue: Templehill
Competition: All Ireland League Div.1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution succumbed to a last minute penalty against Young Munster at Templehill on Saturday. They had led 16-12 at the interval, and 19-17 with time virtually up, but late pressure on the home line yielded a penalty chance that was accurately kicked by Shane Airey to claim the four points. Constitution went six points clear from penalties kicked by Tomas Quinlan in the opening 10 minutes. And when J.J.O’Neill scored at the posts in the 26th minute, it looked like a comfortable day for the home side. Quinlan added the extras for 13-0.

But Young Munster struck with two tries by Kilkenny and O’Connor in quick succession after 33 minutes. Stuart Airey converted the first for 13-12. Tomas Quinlan had the last say, with a penalty for the home side, just before the break for 16-12.

Constitution continued to make the pace with Quinlan adding his third penalty in the 53rd minute. However, in the final quarter, Young Munster showed their mettle. An unconverted try in the left corner by Daniel Hurley in the 71st minute gave them the incentive to go for the victory. And a penalty by Airey in the fourth minute of extra time proved the winner. Lansdowne lead the table on 22 points after five games; Terenure 19, Garryowen 16, Clontatf 15; make up the top four; Constitution slip to 7th on 11 points. Constitution are on the road for the next two weeks, away to Dublin University and Buccaneers.


N.Correll IRFU

Con Players:

L.O’Connell; J.J.O’Neill, N.Hodson; G.Higgins, L.Duffy; T.Quinlan, J.Higgins; G.Duffy, M.Abbott, G.Sweeney; B.Hayes, C.Kindregan Capt.; E.Mintern, G.Lawler, L.Cahill. Replacements: K.O’Byrne; D.Murphy; S.Duffy; A.Moynihan; M.Clune.

Con Scorers:

J.J.O’Neill 1T; T.Quinlan 1C4P.

Young Munster RFC Players:

Young Munster: C.Hayes; D.Hurley, B.Swindlehurst, J.O’Connor, T.McHale; S.Airey, R.Guerin; P.Meyer, M.O’Meara, C.Skehan; F.Wycherley, R.Copeland; G.Combes, D.Dee, B.Kilkenny. Replacements: D.Walsh, G.Ryan, C.Bartley, M.Madden, C.Nash.

Young Munster RFC Scorers:

B.Kilkenny 1T; J.O’Connor 1T; D.Hurley 1T; S.Airey 1P1C

Cork Constitution FC