Cork Con FC 1st XV 30 - 22 Nenagh Ormond
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Munster Senior Cup Semi-final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution qualified for the Munster Senior Cup Final with a hard-fought win over a gallant Nenagh Ormond side at Temple Hill on Saturday. In very temperate conditions, Constitution just about edged the first half, to lead 11-7 against their 3rd Division opponents, who had knocked out Dolphin in the previous round.


Constitution took an early lead when Tomas Quinlan knocked over a 3rd minute penalty. A try by Conor Kindregan on 11 minutes stretched the lead to 11-0, but thereafter the game went somewhat scrappy. And when Brian Hayes was sin-binned in the 34th minute, Nenagh took the opportunity to pressurise the home try-line and were rewarded with a 38th minute penalty try. However, Tomas Quinlan kicked a second penalty just before the break for 11-7.


Constitution attacked strongly after the interval; Quinlan kicked his third penalty in the 44th minute; and he added the extras to a 51st minute try by Ger Sweeney for 21-7.
However, Nenagh hit back when a forward drive yielded a try for Kevin O’Gorman, converted by Hifo in the 54th minute for 21-14. Two minutes later, Quinlan kicked his third penalty, before Constitution were again reduced to fourteen when Ryan Foley was sin-binned. Nenagh replacement prop forward Peter O’Connor scored a try from a line-out maul in the 62nd minute, but the conversion was missed. Then Tomas Quinlan stretched Constitution’s lead to 27-19 after Nenagh scrum-half, Mike Fogarty, was sin-binned in the 65th  minute. 


Mark Walsh kicked three points from a Nenagh penalty in the 73rd minute, to close the score to 27-22, but Tomas Quinlan had the final say with his sixth successful penalty in the final minute, having hit a post with a similar effort a couple of minutes earlier.


In the Final scheduled for 9th April, Constitution await the outcome of next weekend’s semi-final between Old Crescent and Young Munster.


R.O’Sullivan MAR

Con Players:

D.Lyons; A.Spring, N.Hodson, R.Horgan, R.Jermyn; T.Quinlan, 
R.Foley; G.Duffy, M.Abbott, G.Sweeney; C.Kindregan, B.Hayes; J.Murphy, C.O’Flaherty, L.Cahill. Replacements: L.O’Connor (2), R.Burke (3), G.Duffy (1), S.Dwyer (5), S.O’Leary (t), J.J.O’Neill (10), A.Dorgan (9).

Con Scorers:

C.Kindregan 1T; G.Sweeney 1T; T.Quinlan 1C6P.

Nenagh Ormond Players:

E.Moloney; R.O’Brien, Derek Corcoran; W.O’Connor, David Corcoran; K.Hifo, M.Fogarty; J.Hayes, J.Healy, C.Brislane; K.O’Gorman, K.O’Flaherty; M.Slattery, A.Kavanagh, L.Vaipulu. Replacements: P.O’Connor,J.Flaherty, F.Brislane, P.Cleary, J.Long, M.Walsh.

Nenagh Ormond Scorers:

K.Hifo 1PT2C1P; K.O’Gorman 1T; P.O’Connor 1T

Cork Constitution FC