Cork Con FC 1st XV 58 - 15 University College Dublin
Venue: Templehill
Competition: All Ireland League Div.1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution met UCD for the third time this season, and for the second time at Belfield. The first AIL match was drawn 19 points each at Templehill in October; Constitution won the Bateman Cup tie at Belfield in January; and Constitution have now won the return League tie, with a bonus point to boost their AIL chances.


Constitution led 13-8 at half time from two Tomas Quinlan penalties and a conversion of a try by Aaron Spring. While UCD had a try and a penalty by Billy Dardis. 


Ryan Foley had a try for Constitution after the break, again converted by Quinlan, but UCD replied when out half Bobby Holland had a try under the posts for the Students, converted by Dardis to reduce the deficit to 20-15. The Con backs put the ball through the hands for the next score by Dara Lyons, converted by Quinlan for 27-15. And a penalty by Quinlan kept the score ticking over, before the forwards mauled a fourth try, touched down Max Abbott, and again converted by Quinlan for 37-15. 


Constitution maintained the pressure to the end, scoring further tries by Tomas Quinlan and Aaron Spring, both converted by Quinlan. And a final try by Johnny Holland, converted by himself, completed a most comprehensive win. 


UCD slip to second place, as Clontarf scored a bonus point home win over Young Munster. Meanwhile Constitution claim fourth place on points-difference over Garryowen, who are next week’s opponents at Templehill.


M.Connolly (IRFU)

Con Players:

T.Quinlan; A.Spring, N.Hodson, R.Horgan, R.Jermyn; J.Holland, R.Foley; G.Duffy, M.Abbott, G.Sweeney; C.Kindregan, B.Hayes; L.Cahill, J.Murphy, Jas.Ryan Capt. Replacements: B.Quinlan, R.Burke, G.Lawler, J.Higgins, D.Lyons.

Con Scorers:

A.Spring 2T; R.Foley 1T; J.Ryan 1T; M.Abbott 1T; J.Holland 1T1C; T.Quinlan 1T3P6C;

University College Dublin Players:

B.Dardis; A.Boyle, S.Murphy (Capt.), C.Doherty, B.Daly; B.Holland, J.Byrne; G.Frayne, S.McNulty, L.Hyland; B.Cawley, E.McMahon; J.Dwyer, D.Lawler, J.Murphy. Replacements: J.Brennan, R.Byrne, M.Cawley, L.Burke, T.Fletcher.

University College Dublin Scorers:

B.Dardis 1T1P2C.

Cork Constitution FC