Cork Con FC 1st XV 12 - 18 Clontarf
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Ulster Bank League Division 1A
Match Report:

Clontarf gained victory over Cork Constitution in their return Ulster Bank League tie at Templehill on Saturday, and thus reversed the outcome of their first meeting at Castle Avenue in October.  For Clontarf, it keeps their title hopes alive, while it deals a blow to Constitution, who now trail Garryowen in fourth place by one point, with four games to go.


Clontarf had the benefit of the gusty down-field breeze in the first period, and used it to dominate possession and territory. Full back Joseph Carberry took two early penalty chances to notch six points, and when wing Michael Browne crossed for a try in the 21st minute, it looked bleak for the home side. Carberry added the conversion for 0-13. Thereafter, Constitution did have some good moments, but only a 20th minute penalty by Dara Lyons was registered to their account by half time.


Constitution opened brightly in the second period and two penalties by Lyons put them in a challenging position at 9-13. However, a second try by Browne in the 63rd minute, though unconverted, gave Clontarf breathing space. Constitution tried to the end, and an 81st minute penalty by Lyons earned the home side a consolation losing bonus point.


With four games remaining, UCD lead on 46 pts; Clontarf are on 45; Young Munster 43; Garryowen 34, and Constitution 33. 


Constitution’s next two games: UCD A Feb.27; Garryowen H Mar.5.


L.Colgan (IRFU)

Con Players:

J.White; A.Spring, R.Horgan, N.Hodson, R.Jermyn; D.Lyons, R.Foley; G.Duffy, M.Abbott, G.Sweeney; C.Kindregan, B.Hayes; G.Lawler, J.Murphy, J.Ryan Capt. Replacements: L.O’Connor (16), B.Quinlan (1), L.Cahill (6), J.Higgins (9), T.Quinlan (10)..

Con Scorers:

D.Lyons 4P.

Clontarf Players:

J.Carbery, M.Browne, M.Darcy, M.McGrath; I.Soroka, B.Byrne, V.Abdaladze, T.Byrne, B.Reilly Capt.; M.Noone, A.Darcy, ??. Replacements: A.Dundon (2), I.Hirst (1), D.O’Meara (9),

Clontarf Scorers:

M.Browne 2T; J.Carbery 2P1C.

Cork Constitution FC