Cork Con FC 1st XV 32 - 0 Old Belvedere
Venue: Templehill
Competition: All Ireland League Div.1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution defeated Old Belvedere at Templehill on Saturday, and scored 32 points for the second week running, as they collected all five points on offer. Last week they hit Terenure for 32 points, and this week did the same to their Dublin neighbours, and kept a clean sheet into the bargain.


The Templehill pitch held up well after the recent rains, and made for a decent game. There were early chances to both sides, before Luke Cahill rolled off a maul near the line to score the first try. Johnny Holland added the conversion for 7-0 after 21 minutes. Holland, back after a long layoff, was influential for the home side throughout, and his punt to the corner set up the next score for centre Ned Hodson to score from the recycled ball. Holland missed the conversion, but added a penalty before the break for 15-0.


Constitution attacked from the restart, and Holland kicked a penalty after James Murphy had been held up. The Constitution pack were well in command throughout, and showed their scrummaging power in the 58th minute, for No.8 James Ryan to control perfectly and score. Holland added the conversion for 25-0. And when Ned Hodson crashed over in the 67th minute for his second try, Constitution’s day was complete as they collected the bonus point. Holland kicked his third conversion for 32-0.


The result keeps Constitution in fourth place, on points difference over Young Munster and Lansdowne, a point behind Garryowen; seven behind Clontarf, but 14 behind leaders UCD. However, they do have a home match in hand against Terenure College, which is re-fixed for Feb.13th.


M.Patton (IRFU)

Con Players:

D.Sweetnam; S.Daly, N.Hodson, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; J.Holland, J.Poland; G.Duffy, M.Abbott, G.Sweeny; C.Kindregan, B.Hayes; J.Murphy, J.Murphy, J.Ryan Capt. Replacements: L.O’Connor (1); R.Burke (3); C.O’Flaherty (6); R.Foley (9); D.Lyons (10).

Con Scorers:

N.Hodson 2T; L.Cahill 1T; J.Ryan 1T; J.Holland 1P3C.

Old Belvedere Players:

 D.Rriordan; R.O’Loughlin, J.Kennedy, P.Robb, P.O’Dwyer; S.Crosbie, C.Rock; A.Howard, E.Rossiter, D.Lavery; C.Owende, J.Kelly; M.Oyuga, K.O’Gorman, J.Slattery. Replacements: C.O’Flynn (1), J.McWilliams-Grey (3); M.Ludwig ( 6); A.Wynne (10); A.Sheehan (9).

Cork Constitution FC