Cork Con FC 1st XV 6 - 6 Dolphin
Venue: Dolphin
Competition: AIB All Ireland League
Match Report:

The first local derby of the season resulted in honours even as Dolphin and Cork Constitution played out a six points each draw. It was level at the break, with Stuart Lee and Darragh Lyons exchanging penalties, and in the second period it was the same story, as neither side threatened the try line.


There was little between the sides in the first 40 minutes. Dolphin scored first with a penalty on 24 minutes by Stuart Lee from 32 metres, awarded for a lineout infringement. Con’s first sustained attack after 35 minutes yielded a penalty that Darragh Lyons converted from 25 metres.


Lee and Lyons both missed penalty chances in the first ten minutes of the second period, Although Lyons was unlucky to see his effort in the 50th minute come back off a post. Then, he was successful in the 54th minute with a similar chance from 24 metres to give his side the lead. Thereafter, it looked like Constitution would add to their lead. But they lost centre Niall Kenneally to the sin bin in the 65th minute, and after Lyons had a drop goal attempt drop short in the 68th minute, they lost their composure to some extent.


In the 80th minute Dolphin were rewarded for their persistence, when Lee converted his second penalty to draw the sides level. Constitution had one last chance in the final extra minutes, but again Lyons was wide with a drop goal attempt. 


In the end, a draw was a fair result, and the sides will have to wait until December 19th at Templehill to resolve this season’s local rivalry.


G.Conway IRFU.

Con Players:

D.Sweetnam; L.Duffy, I.Dineen, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; D.Lyons, G.Hurley Capt.; G.Duffy, M.Abbott, R.Burke; C.O’Flaherty, D.O’Brien; J.Murphy, J.Ryan, L.Cahill. Replacements: A.Slattery (2), G.Sweeney (1), A.Ross, S.Dwyer (8), T.Quinlan.

Con Scorers:

D.Lyons 2P.

Dolphin Players:

E.Mills; S.McAuliffe, C.McGovern, D.Horgan, E.O’Shaughnessy; S.Lee, D.Foley; J.Leahy, N.Scannell Capt., J.Rochfort; C.Rowe, B.Quill; R.O’Herlihy, K.Allen, R.Murphy. Replacements: K.O’Halloran (2), B.Duggan, D.O’Callaghan (7), B.

Dolphin Scorers:

S.Lee 2P

Cork Constitution FC