Cork Con FC 1st XV 6 - 9 Young Munster
Venue: Templehill
Competition: AIB All Ireland League
Match Report:

Young Munster got the better of Cork Constitution at Templehill on Saturday, in a match devoid of open football, as a result of the continuous rainfall in the area before and during the game. 


The sides were level at six points each at the break, and in the second period a 67th minute penalty awarded for a scrummaging offence, that also resulted in a yellow card for Constitution tight head Gavin Duffy, decided the outcome. 


Ben Martin kicked the penalty to add to his first half penalty and drop goal, that had given his side a 6-0 lead after just four minutes play. Darragh Lyons kept Constitution in the game with penalties after 8 and 19 minutes to level the game by mid-way in the half. The drop goal was the only score from play, but it was a well-taken strike by Martin from 25 metres out in the 4th minute.


Subsequently, neither side overcame the difficult conditions, with the game being fought out between the two sets of forwards. Despite a yellow card to props from each side, there were very few skirmishes, while the backs tried vainly to counter the greasy conditions.


The result leap-frogs Young Munster to 12 points, two ahead of Constitution on 10 points after five games.


D.Phillips IRFU.

Con Players:

T.Quinlan; L.Duffy, N.Hodson, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; D.Lyons, G.Hurley Capt.; G.Duffy, M.Abbott, R.Burke; C.O’Flaherty, G.Lawler; J.Murphy, J.Ryan, L.Cahill. Replacements: A.Slattery (6), G.Sweeney (1), F.McSwiney (5), M.Keyes, D.Sweetnam (15).

Con Scorers:

D.Lyons 2P.

Young Munster Players:

B.Martin; D.O’Connor, D.Goggin, S.O’Leary, E.O’Keeffe; W.Staunton, R.Guerin; G.Ryan, G.Slattery, H.McGrath; T.Goggin, S.Duggan; A.Kennedy, D.Ryan, Y.Browne. Replacements: S.Fenton (2), M.Kelly (3), S.Rennison (6), W.Casey, E.Carr (14).

Young Munster Scorers:

B.Martin 2P1DG.

Cork Constitution FC