Cork Con FC U20 6 - 8 Lansdowne
Venue: Temple Hill
Competition: Fraser McMullen Cup Semi final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution lost to Lansdowne in the semi final of the All Ireland Fraser McMullen Cup at Temple Hill on Friday evening. It was a tense struggle between two evenly matched sides and the result was in doubt to the final whistle.

Despite both sides having a number of scoring chances in the first half, the sides were scoreless at the interval. Penalty opportunities were missed by both sides in the opening thirty minutes, and Constitution missed two gilt edged chances for tries. On 30 minutes right wing Eoin O’Donnell failed to gather and a line out resulted. A five metre scrum followed, but the scrum wheeled and the chance was lost. And then in the 36th minute full back Cathal Quinn cleaved through the Lansdowne defence and with a man to beat off-loaded, but scrum half Dave O’Driscoll was caught just a few metres from the line.

Craig Ronaldson broke the deadlock for Lansdowne with a penalty after 47 minutes, but Darragh Dunne equalised four minutes later. Dave O’Driscoll was sin-binned on 54 minutes and Constitution did well to survive the 10 minute period. Constitution took the lead on 71 minutes with a second Darragh Dunne penalty. However, Lansdowne hit back and scored the decisive try three minutes later. A quick penalty from 10 metres out was transferred to left wing Niall Cullen and he squeezed in at the corner.

Constitution, who were short three of their regular threequarter line in Robert Clune, Cian McGovern and Sean Og Murphy, all through injury, made a valiant late effort and two penalty attempts by Dunne in injury time went narrowly wide. In the end Lansdowne were just about worthy winners and go forward to meet either Clontarf or UCD in the final.



Con Players:

C.Quinn; E.Donnell, T.Harrington, S.Barry, P.O’Connell; D.Dunne, D.O’Driscoll; B.Cagney, B.Vaughan, C.Corkery; D.O’Mahony, P.Dooley; S.Hanbidge, R.Barry, C.O’Flaherty

Con Scorers:

D.Dunne 2P

Lansdowne Players:

C.Tolan; D.Leydon, J.McMahon, H.Kenny, N.Cullen; C.Ronaldson, P.O’Driscoll; S.Coldbeck, P.Reilly, J.Cuna; T.Beirne, R.Farrell; C.Butterworth, A.Hoban, B.Moylett.

Lansdowne Scorers:

N.Cullen 1T, C.Ronaldson 1P

Cork Constitution FC