Cork Con FC 1st XV 11 - 11 Garryowen
Venue: Temple Hill
Competition: All Ireland League Div.1A
Match Report:

Cork Constitution and Garryowen shared the points at Temple Hill in a repeat of the first round tie in November. It was another typical Munster derby between the two great rivals.

Darragh Lyons returned to No.10 duty for Constitution, and former captain Merle O’Connell also played his first game of the season at second row. Cathal O’Flaherty who had played for Ireland U20 XV in Scotland the previous evening also made the starting line-up, while Garret McArdle, who had played for Youghal against Constitution in the previous week’s Munster Junior Cup game, played as a second half replacement for Des Murray at hooker. And there was an Ulster League  debut for Robert Clune on the right wing.

Constitution had the benefit of the south-westerly wind in the first half and took an early lead. Richard Lane was just held in a run to the corner and Gerry Hurley kicked a resultant penalty. Alan Gaughan equalised with a penalty for Garryowen in the 10th minute, and the same player scored a try in the 25th minute for the lead. Scott Deasy tied up the scores with a 31st minute try.

Scoring chances were few as both defences were on top in the third quarter. When Garryowen’s David Sherry was sin-binned in the 70th minute, Gerry Hurley gave Con the lead with a penalty, but they were unable to take further advantage. Gaughan equalised in the 73rd

minute with a penalty, and Garryowen might have won the game with a further late penalty attempt, but Gaughan failed to register.


In the end, both sides were happy to share the spoils, and the league table remains unchanged with Old Belvedere also drawing with Dolphin.


Con Players:

S.Scanlon; R.Lane, I.Dineen, S.Deasy,  R.Clune; D.Lyons, G.Hurley; D.Hurley, D.Murray, A.Foley; B.Hayes, M.O’Connell; C.O’Flaherty, B.Cuttriss, F.Cogan Capt..

Con Scorers:

S.Deasy 1T; G.Hurley 2P

Garryowen Players:

L.Bourke; R.O’Mahony, C.Hircock, A.Gaughan, I.Hanly; C.Doyle Capt., A.Griffin; JP Cooney, J.Rael, D.Lavery; F.McKenna, A.McCluskey; P.Neville, A.Kavanagh, D.Sherry.

Garryowen Scorers:

A.Gaughan 1T 2P

Cork Constitution FC