Cork Con FC 1st XV 38 - 10 Sligo
Venue: Hamilton Park, Strandhill, Sligo.
Competition: Energia Bateman Cup Semi-final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution ran out easy winners over Sligo at Hamilton Park on Saturday afternoon, to book their place in the final of the Energia Bateman Cup. It was an entertaining game played in a very picturesque setting ‘under Ben Bulben’s gaze’ – apologies to W.B.Yeats!


The visitors made their statement in the first period, as they ran in five tries to their host’s solitary try, to lead 31-5 at the interval. The difference in class between the AIL Division 1 leaders and their 3rd Division hosts was clear, but in fairness to the competition, the match never deteriorated, as the home side put in a gritty performance overall, to keep their more illustrious opponents at bay.


Constitution set a hard pace from the outset, and scored the first try on 5 minutes, when Vincent O’Brien finished a maul to the line, and Ger Hurley converted. They doubled their tally on 14 minutes with the second try by centre Alex McHenry, again converted by Hurley.  And the third try followed on 18 minutes with wing Barry Galvin touching down, after the forwards pressured the home line. And Galvin was in again three minutes later in the corner, after good three-quarters’ play. Hurley’s conversion made it 26-0. 


The home side got a boost on the half hour when a cross-kick by right wing Philip Carter, was gathered by his wing partner Calum Goddard for an unconverted try. However, Constitution scored their fifth try on 37 minutes with Galvin touching down McHenry’s grubber to the line, for 31-5 at the interval.


The second half petered out somewhat, as the play, while always interesting to watch, was devoid of scores until the final ten. On 70 minutes, McHenry touched down at the posts for try seven, converted by Hurley. And on 73 minutes, the home side got a deserved consolation when Calum Goddard scored in the corner for his second unconverted try.


In the final on Sat., 11th April,, Constitution will meet Lansdowne who defeated Armagh 20-17 in the second semi-final.


C.Busby IRFU

Con Players:

J.Wren; B.Galvin, A.McHenry, N.Kenneally (C), R.Jermyn; G.Hurley, R.Foley; B.Quinlan, V.O’Brien, D.Murphy; B.Hayes, C.O’Flaherty; J.Murphy, M.Casey, D.Hyland. Replacements: J.Sutton (2); L.Masters (1); S.Duffy (6); G.Bradley (9); B.Mathews (10); M.Hand (15).

Con Scorers:

V.O’Brien 1T; A.McHenry 2T; B.Galvin 3T; G.Hurley 4C

Sligo Players:

 E.Gavin; C.Goddard, M.Butler, D.Byrne, P.Carter; E.Brown, R.Feehily Capt.; M.Keegean, S.O’Hehir, T.Gormley; C.Cassidy, R.Holian; S.Boyle, M.Davey, D.Byrne. Replacements: J.O’Hehir (2); J.East (5); M.Earley (13); B.West (7); D.O’Dowd-Hill (8); K.Wojkowicz(3); B.Cunningham (9).

Sligo Scorers:

C.Goddard 2T.

Cork Constitution FC