Cork Con FC 1st XV 21 - 10 Young Munster RFC
Venue: Irish Independant Park
Competition: Munster Senior Cup Final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution prevailed over Young Munster, for the second week in succession, in the Munster Senior Cup Final, on Friday evening at Irish Independent Park, Cork.  

Last week, the clubs met in the All-Ireland League, when Constitution won by the narrowest margin 16-15 at Clifford Park, Limerick.

On the all-weather surface at Irish Independent Park, Constitution got a tonic start with two early penalties by Sean French on 5 and 15 minutes for 6-0. A 20th minute penalty kicked by Evan Cusack reduced the arrears for Young Munster, but French added a third penalty on 28 minutes for 9-3. And Constitution struck a major blow on 34 minutes following a 5 metre line-out, hooker John Sutton got the touch-down. Gerry Hurley’s conversion made it 16-3 at the break.

Constitution made it 21-3 within three minutes of the resumption when J.J.O’Neill scored with a 40 metre solo run for an unconverted try. However, Young Munster hit back with a try by prop forward Conan Bartley on 57 minutes, converted by Cusack for 21-10.

That ended the scoring, leaving Constitution Captain Niall Kenneally to collect their 30th Munster Senior Cup, and get a little closer to Garryowen’s all-time total of 37 Cups. 

The final was also notable for the excellent handling of the game by referee Joy Neville.


J.Neville MAR

Con Players:

S.French; J.J.O’Neill, A.McHenry, N.Kenneally Capt., R.Jermyn; G.Hurley, D.Williams; G.Duffy, J.Sutton, D.Murphy; B.Hayes, S.Duffy; J.McSwiney, R.O’Neill, D.Hyland. Replacements: V.O’Brien, L.Masters, C.O’Flaherty, J.Murphy, R.Foley, J.Costigan.

Con Scorers:

J.Sutton 1T; J.J.O’Neill 1T; S.French 3P; G.Hurley 1C.

Young Munster RFC Players:

A.Tynan; L.Fitzgerald, H.Fleming, K.Stevenson; E.Cusack, J.Lyons; D.Begley, M.O’Meara, C.Bartley; S.Rigney, A.Kennedy (Capt.); J.Foley, C.Mitchell, J.Stewart. Replacements: J.Wycherley, P.Allen, F.Coleman, J.Kiely, C.O’Doherty, T.Goggin

Young Munster RFC Scorers:

C.Bartlet 1T; E.Cusack 1P1C.

Cork Constitution FC