Cork Con FC 1st XV 53 - 10 UCD
Venue: Templehill
Competition: P.Martin IRFU
Match Report:

Cork Constitution scored a decisive victory over second-placed University College Dublin at Templehill on Saturday afternoon, scoring nine tries and earning a bonus point in the process. Michael Hand, selected at full back was Constitution’s sixth different full back in eight AIL games (Greg Higgins, Sean French, Jonathan French (2), Tomas Quinlan (2) and Jack Crowley the others). 
Constitution led 24-10 at half time, and had banked the bonus point for four tries by then.

Barry Galvin bagged the first try from the kick-off, after the ball went his way via Joe McSwiney and Gerry Hurley. Ross O’Neill had the second two minutes later, also converted by Hurley. James Tarrant kicked a penalty for UCD in the 28th minute, before Jack Costigan had Constitution’s third try on the half hour for 17-3. College had a further set-back on 35 minutes, when centre Gavin Mullin received a red card for a high tackle. 

Brian Hayes had the bonus-point fourth try following a maul near the line, converted by Hurley for 24-3 after 37 minutes. However, College pulled one back with a try by No.8 Ronan Foley just before the break, converted by Tarrant for 24-10.

Constitution continued to dominate throughout the second period against the weakened, but game, College side. Brian Hayes scored number six in the 57th minute; and Ross O’Neill and James Murphy completed the rout with tries seven and eight in the 62nd and 70th minutes. Gerry Hurley and Ryan Foley added conversions for 48-10, before Bruce Mathews completed the rout with a 74th minute unconverted try.

Constitution now have an eight point advantage over Garryowen in second place; and by ten over UCD in third place. Next week Constitution travel to Young Munster, who are fourth after a two point win at bottom side Ballynahinch.


P.Martin IRFU

Con Players:

M.Hand; B.Galvin, J.Costigan, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; G.Hurley, D.Williams; G.Duffy, J.Sutton, D.Murphy; B.Hayes, S.Duffy; J.McSwiney,R.O’Neill, D.Hyland. Replacements: M.Abbott (1), G.Sweeney (3), J.Murphy (8), R.Foley (9), B.Mathews (14).

Con Scorers:

B.Galvin 1T; R.O’Neill 1T; J.Costigan 1T; B.Hayes 2T; R.Jermyn 1T; R.O’Neill 1T; J.Murphy 1T; B.Mathews 1T; G.Hurley 4C.

UCD Players:

D.Ryan; J.Ringrose, G.Mullin, E.Barr, J.O’Connor; J.Tarrant, H.Donnelly; M.Milne, B.Sheehan, E.Coyle; J.Gilly (Capt.), C.Prendergast; B.Murray, A.Penny, R.Foley. Replacements: R.Bergin (2); E.Burns (3); B.Leahy (5); L.Maloney, A.Marks (7).

UCD Scorers:

R.Foley 1T; J.Tarrant 1P.

Cork Constitution FC