Cork Con FC 1st XV 35 - 19 Ballynahinch
Venue: Templehill
Competition: All-Ireland League Division 1
Match Report:

All-Cork Constitution scored a bonus point win over Ballynahinch at Templehill on Saturday, and so consolidated their position at the top of the AIL table.

Constitution started brightly, and ran in their first try after 7 minutes when Rob Jermyn finished off a pitch-length movement, that Jack Crowley converted for 7-0. Ballynahinch scored on 12 minutes when Ross Adair cut through the home defence from 30 metres, but the conversion attempt was wide. 

Rob Jermyn was in the action again on 18 minutes with a strong break out from defence; and he linked a couple of minutes later to score his second try, again converted by Crowley for 14-5. And Jermyn scored his third try on 25 minutes from a break by full back Greg Higgins from half-way; again converted by Crowley for 21-5.

And the tries kept coming before the break; with Jack Crowley scoring from another long range attack, and adding the conversion for 28-5, before George Pringle scored for the visitors in the right corner on 40 minutes; to which O’Hagan landed an excellent conversion for 28-12 at the break.

The second half was none the less intensive, but the scoring was confined to one try to each side; Niall Kenneally scored for the home side on 47 minutes, converted by Crowley. While Ballynahinch scrum-half, Rhys O’Donnell, scored in the final minute, converted by O’Hagan.

The victory consolidates Constitution’s lead in the League table now to eight points over their nearest rivals UCD, who lost in Limerick to Young Munster. 

Next Saturday, Constitution meet second-placed UCD at Templehill.


J.Erskine IRFU

Con Players:

G.Higgins; S.French, A.McHenry, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; J.Crowley, D.Williams; G.Duffy, J.Sutton, D.Murphy; S.Duffy, C.O’Flaherty; D.Hyland, R.O’Neill, E.Mintern. Replacements: M.Abbott, R.Burke, J.Murphy, R.Foley, J.Costigan.

Con Scorers:

R.Jermyn 3T; N.Kenneally 1T; J.Crowley 1T5C.

Ballynahinch Players:

P.Wright; A.Cairns, R.Adair, R.Harte, G.Pringle; S.O’Hagan, R.O’Donnell; K.McCalll, C.Piper, J.Blair; J.Simpson, J.Donnan; J.Regan, O.Loughead, C.Ross. Replacements: S.Ross (2); B.Cullen (3); B.Luney, C.Rankin, G.Hutley (11).

Ballynahinch Scorers:

R.Adair 1T; G.Pringle 1T; R.O’Donnell 1T; S.O’Hagan 2C.

Cork Constitution FC