Cork Con FC 1st XV 28 - 13 Clontarf RFC
Venue: Aviva Stadium, Lansdowne Road, Dublin
Competition: All Ireland League Final 2018/19
Match Report:

Cork Constitution defeated Clontarf at the Aviva Stadium, Lansdowne Road on Sunday to claim their sixth AIB League title in a tight tense encounter. It was Constitution’s fourth title, last won two seasons ago.

Constitution were forced into a late change as Alex McHenry started in place of club captain Niall Kenneally. But still, Constitution started confidently, and took the lead with a fine try in the 11th minute. Left wing Sean French made a strong run from half way, and transferred inside to supporting wing Liam O’Connell, who quickly transferred to centre Shane Daly to touch down at the posts. D.A.Moynihan converted for 7-0, and Constitution had made the best of starts.

Clontarf hit back with a penalty on 16 minutes by David Joyce, but Rob Jermyn scored for Constitution in the next play, with a scorching run from half-way after Luke Cahill had passed to him directly from a maul, and Moynihan’s conversion made it 14-3.

Again Clontarf surged forward, and only brilliant tackles by French and O’Connell on Courtney, saved their line. But Clontarf did score just before the break with a try by centre Mick Darcy, after a series of mauls to the line. David Joyce converted, but Constitution led 14-10 at the interval.

Clontarf lost scrum half Lloyd to a yellow card on 43 minutes, but the score remained until a 54th minute penalty by Joyce made it a one-point game. However, Constitution stretched that lead with a try, via a video review, by Duncan Williams and converted by Moynihan for 19-13 after 58 minutes.

A penalty for off-side on 62 minutes gave Moynihan the opportunity to make it 22-13, and again on 68 minutes following a maul collapse, for 25-13.

Constitution lost Sean French to a yellow card on 71 minutes, but Moynihan sealed the victory with a final penalty, after Shane Daly had made 40 metres out of defence.

And so the season ended for Constitution, with captain Niall Kenneally accepting the AIB League trophy, to add to the Munster Senior Cup won in January.


J.Erskine IRFU

Con Players:

L.O’Connell; S.French, S.Daly, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; A.Moynihan, J.Higgins; G.Duffy, V.O’Brien, D.Murphy; B.Hayes, E.Mintern; J.McSwiney, R.O’Neill, L.Cahill. 
Replacements: M.Abbott (2); B.Quinlan (3); P.Casey; A.McHenry (13); J.Murphy (6); D.Williams (9); J.Wren (11).

Con Scorers:

S.Daly 1T; R.Jermyn 1T; D.Williams 1T; D.A.Moynihan 3P2C.

Clontarf RFC Players:

J.Power; M.Courtney, S.O’Brien, M.D’Arcy, C.O’Donoghue; D.Joyce, A. Lloyd; I.Soroka, P.Finlay, R.Burke-Flynn, C.Daly, B.Reilly, T.Ryan, A.D’Arcy, M.Noone (capt).
Replacements: D.Adamson (2), T.Ryan (3), V.Abdaladze, A.Feeney (9), C.Kelly, M.McGrath, B.Deeny.

Clontarf RFC Scorers:

M.Darcy 1T; D.Joyce 2P1C

Cork Constitution FC