Cork Con FC 1st XV 27 - 3 Garryowen RFC
Venue: Templehill
Competition: All Ireland League Division 1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution had a comfortable win over Garryowen at Templehill on Saturday, but failed to gain a fourth try, and thus a bonus point.

J.J.O’Neill gave Constitution the lead with a try following a kick and dribble, from near half way by out-half Moynihan, who converted for 7-0 after 14 minutes. Constitution continued to press and Moynihan made it 14-0 from a penalty on 22 minutes. And he kicked another on 25 minutes, following a ‘scatter’ at half-way. Peadar Collins got Garryowen on the score sheet with a penalty from 22 metres in the 36th minute, to leave Constitution 13-3 at the interval.

Garryowen pressed in the opening stage of the second period, but a missed penalty and a failed drive to the corner, yielded nothing. And in the 63rd minute Constitution made a line-out drive count, with a try by Brian Scott, converted by Moynihan, for 20-3, And in the final minutes, a penalty kick to the corner, followed by a 5-metre scrum, provided Rob Jermyn with try at the posts, converted by Moynihan for 27-3.

In the other games, Clontarf defeated UCD 17-6, to go top on 20 points; Constitution stay second on 19 points; while Shannon and Lansdowne, who defeated UCC and Young Munster, are third and fourth.

Constitution are free next week, before meeting Highfield at Templehill on Friday 16th November, in the Munster Senior Cup quarter-final.


J.Lacey MAR

Con Players:

L.O’Connell; J.J.O’Neill, J.Costigan, N.Kenneally (C), R.Jermyn; D.A. Moynihan, J.Higgins; G.Duffy, V.O’Brien, B.Scott; B.Hayes, C.Kindregan; K.Sheahan, R.O’Neill, L.Cahill. Replacements: D.Murphy (1); P.Casey (3); J.McSwiney (5); R.Cassidy (9); B.Crowley (14).

Con Scorers:

J.J.O’Neill 1T; B.Scott 1T; R.Jermyn 1T; D.A.Moynihan 2P3C.

Garryowen RFC Players:

R.O’Mahony; B.Fitzgerald, D.Mccarthy, P.Collins, C.O’Shea; B.Swindlehurst, R.Guerin; M.O’Donnell, L.Cronin, A.Keating; K.Seymour, T.Ferguson; M.Wilson, J.Daly, D.Ryan. Replacements: D.Barron (5), C.Fitzgerald (1), A.Fitzgerald, D.Moore (6), J.Hurley (13)

Garryowen RFC Scorers:

P.Collins 1P.

Cork Constitution FC