Cork Con FC 1st XV 27 - 35 Lansdowne RFC
Venue: Lansdowne Road – back pitch
Competition: All Ireland League Division 1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution lost for the first time this season on Saturday to Lansdowne, on the back ‘plastic’ pitch at Lansdowne Road. On a fine afternoon, Lansdowne took the lead from a 10th minute penalty by Harry Byrne, and the out-half added a try after 13 minutes for 8-0. Constitution hit back with an unconverted try by second-row Brian Hayes after 20 minutes, only for Lansdowne to score a smart converted try though the middle by Byrne, almost from the restart.

The play went from end to end on the slick surface, and Aidan Moynihan added a penalty on 23 minutes for 15-8. However, Byrne kicked his second penalty two minutes later. The #10 kicked a third penalty on 25 minutes for 18-8, and just before the interval, wing David McEvoy scored the home side’s third try, again converted for 25-8 at the break.

Skipper Conor Kindregan, scored Constitution’s second try on 50 minutes, converted by Aidan Moynihan for 25-15. However, Lansdowne secured the bonus point fourth try by full back Eamon Mills in the 67th minute for 30-15, before Liam O’Connor scored Constitution’s bonus-point fourth try in the 67th minute for 30-20. 

Lansdowne continued to dominate the scoring with a try from a maul to the left corner by Joe O’Brien in the 72nd minute, before Cathal O’Flaherty completed Constitution’s tally with their fifth try in the last play of the game, converted by Moynihan. 

After four series of matches, Clontarf lead the table on 16 points, with Constitution a point behind in second place. Next week, Constitution meet Garryowen at Templehill.



Con Players:

L.O’Connell; J.Costigan, A.McHenry, N.Kenneally (C), R.Jermyn; D.A. Moynihan, J.Higgins; G.Duffy, V.O’Brien, B.Scott; B.Hayes, C.Kindregan (C);; J.McSwiney, R.O’Neill, L.Cahill. Replacements: D.Murphy (2), P.Casey (1), C.O’Flaherty (4), R.Cassidy (9). B.Crowley (14)

Con Scorers:

J.Costigan 1T; N.Kenneally 1T; B.Hayes 1T; L.Cahill 1T; C.O’Flaherty 1T; A.Moynihan 2C1P.

Lansdowne RFC Players:

E.Mills; D.McEvoy, H.Brennan, M.O’Keeffe, A.Leavy; H.Byrne, T.Murphy; D.Coulson, T.Moran, I.Prendiville; O.Dowling, J.Dwan; D.O’Connor, A.Conneely, W.Earle. Replacements: J.Rael, G.McGrath, J.O’Brien, G.Molloy, T.Roche.

Lansdowne RFC Scorers:

D.McEvoy 1T; A.Leavy 1T; J.O’Brien 1T; H.Byrne 2T2C2P; 

Cork Constitution FC