Cork Con FC 1st XV 24 - 13 Dublin University
Venue: Templehill
Competition: All Ireland League Div.1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution scored a bonus point win over Dublin University at Templehill on Saturday afternoon, to consolidate their place at the top of All-Ireland League Division 1A on 14points. Nearest rivals Clontarf, also recorded a home victory over Garryowen, to stay second on 12 points.

At Templehill, Dublin University scored first with a 10th minute penalty kicked by James Fennelly from 35 metres. But Constitution took the lead with a try by Rob Jermyn on 20 minutes, from a break by Niall Kenneally. DA Moynihan kicked the conversion for 7-3.

Trinity flanker, Max Kearney saw yellow, and by the time he returned, his opposite number Sonny Dwyer, had scored Constitution’s second try in the 29th minute. Aidan Moynihan converted expertly from the touchline for 14-3. And J.J.O’Neill scored the third try in the right corner for 19-3 at the interval.

The Constitution backs showed their class with the fourth try by wing J.J.O’Neill in the 49th minute for 24-3 to secure the bonus point, before Trinity hit back with an unconverted try on the hour by replacement prop Thomas Clarkson. 

And Trinity added a third try in the 72nd minute with a typical multi-phase College move, that ended with full back Rob Russell touching down, but the conversion was not added, to leave Constitution winners at 24-13.

Constitution head the League table after three series of matches with 14 points; Clontarf are second on 12 points; Shannon third on 9, with Young Munster and Garryowen on 8 points each.


L.Colgan MAR

Con Players:

L.O’Connell; J.J.O’Neill, G.Higgins, N.Kenneally (C), R.Jermyn; D.A. Moynihan, J.Higgins; G.Duffy, V.O’Brien, D.Murphy; D.O’Shea, S.Duffy; J.McSwiney, S.Dwyer, L.Cahill. Replacements: G.Roche (3), B.Quinlan (2), C.Kindregan (7); G.Bradley (9), J.Costigan (14).

Con Scorers:

R.Jermyn 1T; S.Dwyer 1T; J.J.O’Neill 2T; D.A.Moynihan 2C.

Dublin University Players:

R.Russell; H.Twomey, J.Hickey, J.Moriarty, C.Hogan; J.Fennelly, R.Osborne; B.Vermeulen, J.Horan, D.Doyle; A.MacDonald, A.Greene; P.Nulty, M.Kearney, N.O’Riordan. Replacements: D.Sheehan (2); T.Clarkson (3); C.O’Dwyer (5); T.Killeen (9); C.Dunne (14). 

Dublin University Scorers:

T.Clarkson 1T; R.Russell 1T; J.Fennelly 1P.

Cork Constitution FC