Cork Con FC 1st XV 27 - 7 Shannon RFC
Venue: Templehill
Competition: All Ireland League Division 1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution opened their All-Ireland League campaign with victory over Shannon at Templehill on Saturday. They trailed 3-7 at the interval, but two second half tries, saw them claim the points over a very committed Shannon side.

On a perfect autumnal afternoon, Aidan Moynihan gave Constitution a 20th minute lead from a penalty. However, Shannon had the better of the exchanges thereafter, and when Evan Mintern was yellow-carded on 32 minutes, the visitors drove home that advantage with a try by hooker Ty Chan in the 34th minute. The conversion by Jack Flannery gave them the lead at 3-7. A second yellow to Luke Cahill did not help Constitution’s cause, as they trailed at half-time.

However, they started the second period in determined fashion, and when J.J.O’Neill touched down on 45 minutes, Moynihan’s conversion put the back in the lead at 10-7. Constitution continued to dominate, and on 51 minutes, skipper Niall Kenneally touched down, following a maul and drive from the Shannon 22 metre line, with Moynihan converting for 17-7. 

Constitution scored a third try in the 72nd minute, when Rob Jermyn was at the end of a maul to the line, for an unconverted try for 22-7. In injury time, Niall Kenneally intercepted to score the bonus point try, with a neat intercept on the Shannon 22, and Moynihan’s conversion closed the scoring at 27-7.


J.Neville MAR

Con Players:

L.O’Connell; J.J.O’Neill, G.Higgins, N.Kenneally (C), R.Jermyn; D.A. Moynihan, G.Bradley; G.Duffy, V.O’Brien, D.Murphy; B.Hayes, J.McSwiney; E.Mintern, R.O’Neill, L.Cahill. Replacements: D.Abbott, G.Roche, S.Dwyer, R.Cassidy, J.Costigan.

Con Scorers:

J.J.O’Neill 1T; N.Kenneally 2T; R.Jermyn 1T; D.A.Moynihan 1P2C.

Shannon RFC Players:

J.McGarry; N.Randles, B.Deegan, W.Leonard, E.Moloney; J.Flannery, A.Hehir; S.Kanlesi, T.Chan,T.Cusack; R.Coffey, J.Kriel; L.Nicholas, K.Browne,, L.Clohessy. Replacements: L.O’Halloran, K.Brown, O.Ring, K.Kavanagh, G.Finucane.

Shannon RFC Scorers:

T.Chan 1T; J.Flannery 1C

Cork Constitution FC