Cork Con FC 1st XV 27 - 26 University College Cork
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Munster Senior Cup 1st Round
Match Report:

Cork Constitution scored the narrowest of victories over University College at Templehill on Saturday afternoon, to advance to the second round of the Munster Senior Cup. It was the second meeting between the sides this month, and a much closer affair on this occasion, since the runaway Charity Cup victory earlier.

The home side ran up a 21-5 advantage in the first forty minutes, but College led 24-26 with just two minutes remaining, and only a last ditch attack that yielded a penalty, enabled Constitution to take the spoils.

 Constitution took the lead after 17 minutes with a try by Niall Kenneally, converted by Moynihan. And they doubled that advantage on 23 minutes, when Kenneally set up winger Rob Jermyn for a try, also converted by Moynihan. 

And when Liam O’Connell scored on 25 minutes, after O’Neill and Bradley combined, the home side led 21-0, with Moynihan’s third conversion.

However, the students hit back just before the interval, with an unconverted try by No.8 Ryan Murphy, to give the students hope in the second period.

A penalty by Moynihan on the resumption extended Constitution’s lead, before Peter Sylvester scored for College, converted by James Taylor for 24-12. Cian Barry was yellow-carded for the home side on 50 minutes, and though Taylor missed the penalty award, he converted a try by full back Richard Walsh, for 24-19 almost immediately.

And College took the lead with a try under the posts by centre Cian Bohane, with Taylor adding the conversion for 24-26. However, Constitution regained the lead with a penalty from Moynihan in the 70th minute, and saw out the final ten minutes for the narrowest of victories.

Constitution now await the winners of the Cashel / Highfield tie (scheduled in two weeks time) in the next round on 17th November.


E.Hogan O’Connell MAR

Con Players:

L.O’Connell; B.Crowley, G.Higgins, N.Kenneally (C), R.Jermyn; D.A. Moynihan, J.Higgins; G.Duffy, V.O’Brien, D.Murphy; B.Hayes, C.O’Flaherty; S.Duffy, S.Dwyer, E.Mintern. Replacements: D.Abbott; J.McHenry (2); N.Finn; B.Galvin; R.Cassidy (9); P.Casey (3); L.Coughlan (7).

Con Scorers:

N.Kenneally 1T; R.Jermyn 1T; L.O’Connell 1T; D.A.Moynihan 2P3C.

University College Cork Players:

R.Walsh; A.O’Connor, M.Clune, P.Sylvester, C.Bohane, J.Taylor, C.Sisk; B.O’Connor, T.Cooney, R.O’Donoghue; C.Barry, M.Bissessan; B.O’Mahony, C.Fitzgerald, R.Murphy. Replacements: P.McCarthy (2); R.Loftus (3); R.Thompson, L.McSharry, F.Hennessy, J.Poland (9); A.Molloy.

University College Cork Scorers:

R.Murphy 1T; P.Sylvester 1T; R.Walsh 1T; C.Bohane 1T; J.Taylor 3C.

Cork Constitution FC