Cork Con FC 1st XV 5 - 25 Lansdowne
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Bateman Cup Final 2018
Match Report:

Lansdowne won a comprehensive Bateman Cup victory over Cork Constitution at Templehill on Saturday to claim the trophy that they last won in 1931, when they achieved their third successive victory. In doing so they deprived Cork Constitution of a remarkable sixth Cup victory in succession.


At a pristine Templehill, and in glorious conditions, Constitution started well to lead 5-0 after 20 minutes; but that was as good as it got for the home side, as the visitors led 5-8 at the interval, and went on to dominate the second period for a clear-cut victory.


Darren O’Shea scored a try for Constitution in the right corner after 19 minutes, from a break by Brian Hayes, as the home side coped well in the opening period. However, Lansdowne were level by the 28th minute when Alan Bennie touched down for an unconverted try. And Lansdowne led 5-8 at the interval by a penalty from Scott Deasy in the 37th minute.


Second row Josh O’Rourke added a try in the 50th minute, unconverted, for 5-13. And two further tries followed by Adam Leavy and Mark O’Keeffe, as Constitution failed to cope with the enterprise of the visitor’s play. And an intercept try by Mark O’Keeffe confirmed a bad day for the home side, and the conversion closed out a fine victory.


Referee: G.Clancy (IRFU)

Con Players:

S.Daly; L.O’Connell, A.McHenry, N.Kenneally Capt., R.Jermyn; T.Quinlan, G.Hurley; G.Duffy, V.O’Brien, G.Sweeney; C.Kindregan (Capt.), B.Hayes; J.McSwiney, R.O’Neill, L.Cahill. Replacements: D.McCormack (2); P.Casey (3); D.Abbott (1); J.Higgins (9); J.J.O’Neill (11); D.O’Shea (5); E.Mintern (7)

Con Scorers:

D.O’Shea 1T.

Lansdowne Players:

E.Mills; F.Horan, H.Brennan, M.O’Keeffe, A.Leavy; S.Deasy, A.Bennie; M.Mulhall, T.Moran, G.McGrath; J.O’Rourke, J.Dwan; J.O’Sullivan, A.Connolly, W.Earle. Replacements: J.Rael (2); N.Mpiko (1); B.Fitzpatrick (3); G.Molloy (10); C.McMickian (9).

Lansdowne Scorers:

A.Bennie 1T; J.O’Rourke 1T; M.O’Keeffe 1T; S.Deasy 1P1C.

Cork Constitution FC