Cork Con FC 1st XV 18 - 5 UCD
Venue: Templehill
Competition: All Ireland League Div.1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution defeated the early-season joint- League leaders UCD, who had a bonus point victory over Dublin University last week


Tomas Quinlan was again Constitution’s ace marksman, with five successful goal kicks, to give the home team a 15-0 interval lead. And despite a late score by the students, Constitution held out for a significant victory.


Quinlan opened Constitution’s account with a 12th minute penalty, awarded for a scrum infringement, after Frawley had missed a similar opportunity for UCD. A second successful penalty by the out half had Constitution at 6-0 after 19 minutes. Two further penalties, on 25 and 31 minutes, pushed the score on to 12-0. A yellow-card  offence by UCD flanker Alex Penny  in the 38th minute, gave Quinlan a fifth penalty chance, that he duly converted for 15-0 at the interval.


Quinlan kicked his sixth penalty from in front of the posts in the 47th minute. A last minute unconverted try by Ciaran Frawley for the students, following a series of mauls near the line, took the bare look from the scoreboard, but still left Constitution as comfortable winners.


Terenure College, who defeated St Mary’s, lead the table on 15 points; Lansdowne who crushed Dublin University are second on 13, with Constitution and Garryowen on 11 points each.  


Next week Constitution are away to Lansdowne.


Stuart Gaffikin IRFU

Con Players:

L.O’Connell; J.J.O’Neill, N.Hodson; G.Higgins, L.Duffy; T.Quinlan, J.Higgins; G.Duffy, M.Abbott,  G.Sweeney; B.Hayes, C.Kindregan Capt.; E.Mintern, G.Lawler, L.Cahill. Replacements: K.O’Byrne (2); D.Murphy (3); S.Duffy (6); A.Moynihan (11);  M.Clune(10).

Con Scorers:

T.Quinlan 6P

UCD Players:

T.Fletcher; S.Kilgallon, S.Murphy, J.Glynn Capt., T.O’Brien; C.Frawley, N.Peters; R.Mulvihil, M.Moynihan, J.Loughman; B.Cawley, E.McMahon; K.McKenna, A.Penny, R.Foley. Replacements: M.O’Donovan, L.Hyland (3), J.Guy (5), M.Gilsenan, C.Mulcahy.

UCD Scorers:

C.Frawley 1T.

Cork Constitution FC