Cork Con FC 1st XV 21 - 14 University College Cork
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Cork Charity Cup Final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution retained the Cork Charity Cup for another season after a well-contested final against University College at Templehill on Saturday. College had the better of the first half exchanges to lead 5-11 at the break. However, the home side fought back to level by the mid-point of the second period, and scored the winning points in the final ten minutes.


College burst into an early lead when out half James Taylor scored with a solo effort from 30 metres. Right wing Liam O’Connell levelled the scores in the 16th minute with a fine try in the right corner. Neither try was converted to leave the score at five points each.


College had the better of the game up to half time, and Taylor was successful with penalties in the 23rd and 39th minutes, to give the visitors the half time advantage.


Tomas Quinlan kicked three penalties in the opening 15 minutes of the second period as Constitution began to dominate, but Taylor tied up the scores at 14 points each on the hour mark with his third successful penalty.


Brendan Quinlan won the day for Constitution with a try in the final minutes, and Quinlan’s conversion made the game safe for the home side at 21-14.


Munster Branch President, Charlie Buckley, presented the Cup to Constitution captain Niall Kenneally after the game; it was Constitution’s fifth successive victory in the competition.


Next week is another major task, with the first round of the Munster Senior Cup in which Constitution meet UL-Bohemian in Limerick.


C.Harrington MAR

Con Players:

A.Moynihan; L.O’Connell, P.Buckley, N.Kenneally Capt., G.Higgins; T.Quinlan, J.Higgins; B.Quinlan, M.Abbott, G.Duffy; C.Kindregan Capt., B.Hayes; E.Mintern, R.O’Neill, J.O’Callaghan.. Replacements: J.McHenry, B.Quinlan (3); J.David (1); L.Coughlan (6); G.Bradley, G.Roche, L.Duffy (13).

Con Scorers:

L.O’Connell 1T; B.Quinlan 1T; T.Quinlan 1C3P.

University College Cork Players:

L.Murray; K.Slater, C.Bohane, D.Horgan, J.Kiernan; J.Taylor, J.Poland; S.O’Hanlon, M.Shinkwin, R.O’Donovan; C.Barry, D.Moloney; G.Smith, L.McSharry, D.Feeney. Replacements: F.Hennessy (6) C.Slowey (7); D.Collins; B.O’Mahony (5); R.Cassidy (15); J.Ryan, A.Dorgan (9).

University College Cork Scorers:

J.Taylor 1T3P.

Cork Constitution FC