Cork Con FC J1 25 - 26 Clanwilliam
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Munster Junior Cup
Match Report:

Clanwilliam won a close Munster Junior Cup encounter at Templehill on Sunday afternoon, over a rather subdued home side. Despite scoring four tries, they conceded rather easy penalties to give the visitors the edge on the scoreboard.


Clanwilliam settled better than the home side, and two penalties by Niall Leahy had them in control, before Jack O’Dwyer scored the opening try on 31 minutes, which Leahy converted for 0-13. 


Constitution hit back before the break. No.8 John O’Callaghan got in for a try at the posts in the 36th minute, for Lacey to add the conversion. And, Leahy and Lacey exchanged penalties in the minutes before the break, to leave the visitors in the lead at 10-16.


Constitution re-started in more determined manner with a smart try by Luke Duffy in the 43rd minute; but, just as quick, Dwyer scored at the other end, and converted himself for 15-23.


A quick delivery by Billy Pope in the 61st minute, gave Harry Murphy a clear run to the line. The conversion was missed, but the gap was down to three points: 20-23.


Then in the 70th minute, a break-out from the 22-metre area brought play to the Clanwilliam line; and from a scrum, Jamie Murphy got in for a try. The conversion was missed, but the home side led 25-23 inside the final 10 minutes. 


However, after Constitution won a good line out in mid-field, they conceded a penalty in the 76th minute, which Leahy converted, for the narrowest of wins.


P.Sheehan MAR

Con Players:

L.Duffy; H.Murphy, M.Clune, R.Horgan, B.Galvin; E.Lacey, B.Pope; R.Wilmott, V.O’Brien, G.Roche; C.Barry, G.Stokes; R.O’Halloran, L.O’Leary, J.O’Callaghan. Replacements: J.Tyner (5); S.Deane (2); R.Walsh (7), J.Murphy (13), D.King.

Con Scorers:

J.O’Callaghan 1T; L.Duffy 1T; H.Murphy 1T; J.Murphy 1T; E.Lacey 1P1C.

Clanwilliam Players:

D.Burke; E.O’Carroll, V.Grisewood, K.Merrigan, J.O’Dwyer; N.Leahy, D.Shiels; D.O’Connell, S.Meahher, B.Quinlan; B.Kissane, C.O’Donnell; M.Dunphy, J.Comerford, D.Crowe. Replacements: I.O’Rahelly, J.Barry, F.Ryan, J.Richardson, K.O’Donnell.

Clanwilliam Scorers:

J.O’Dwyer 2T; N.Leahy 4P2C.

Cork Constitution FC