Cork Con FC 1st XV 16 - 10 Terenure
Venue: Lakelands
Competition: Ulster Bank All-Ireland League - Division 1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution won a hard earned away victory over Terenure College in the All Ireland League at Lakelands on Saturday.

The opening half was scoreless, until Eoin Joyce scored the opening try in the 36th minute. Mark O’Neill missed the conversion; and then in the final play, Tomas Quinlan kicked a penalty for Constitution, to leave the half-time score at 5-3 to the home side.

Sam Coughlan-Murray scored an unconverted try for Terenure, almost straight from the re-start, for 10-3. John Poland had a penalty for Constitution in the 56th minute to reduce the deficit to four points. Brian Hayes scored the decisive try for Constitution in the 60th minute, converted by Quinlan for the lead. A yellow-card reduced Constitution to fourteen for the final 10 minutes, but Swain missed the resultant penalty. And Poland had the last word for Constitution, with an injury time penalty for a six point win, with Terenure securing a losing bonus point.

In the Division 1A table, Lansdowne go top on 50 points, after a big win over Dublin University; Young Munster are second on 43 points after a two point home win over St Mary’s; Constitution are third on 39 points; with Clontarf fourth on 38 points, after a 36-13 away win against Old Belvedere.

Next up for Constitution is the Munster Senior Cup Final against Young Munster at Irish Independent Park on Sunday 26th February.


D.Wilkinson IRFU

Con Players:

L.O’Connell, J.J.O’Neill, N.Hodson, N.Kenneally Capt., R.Jermyn; T.Quinlan, J.Poland; G.Duffy, V.O’Brien, G.Sweeney; C.Kindregan, B.Hayes; G.Lawler, J.Murphy, L.Cahill. Replacements: M.Abbott (2), G.Roche (3), R.O’Neill (8), J.Higgins (9), L.Duffy (14).

Con Scorers:

B.Hayes 1T; T.Quinlan 1C1P; J.Poland 2P.

Terenure Players:

J.O’Donoghue; S.Coghlan-Murray, C.Finn, R.Carroll, J.Swaine; M.O’Neill, K.O’Neill; C.Madden, R.Smyth, O.Heffernan; M.Murphy, K.McCoy Capt.; S.Caffrey, H.Brewer, E.Joyce. Replacements: B.Elliott, G.Mamilton, J.O’Neill, C.Weakliam, S.O’Neill.

Terenure Scorers:

E.Joyce 1T; S.Coughlan-Murray 1T.

Cork Constitution FC