Cork Con FC 1st XV 19 - 3 Dublin University
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Ulster Bank League Div.1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution repeated their December victory over Dublin University at College Park in the return AIL game at Templehill on Saturday. In the first game at College Park they won 30-10, but it was a little closer on this occasion. 

The first half ended 6-3 in the home side’s favour. Tomas Quinlan kicked Constitution to a 15th minute lead with a penalty, after Rob Jermyn had been held up at the posts. At the other end, Trinity wing Billy O’Hora cut through the centre, but was checked by Liam O’Connell. McDermott missed a penalty chance on 26 minutes for Trinity, but he made amends with a successful effort in the 30th minute to level the scores. However, Constitution took the half-time honours, after Brian Hayes and Liam O’Connell made the play that resulted in a penalty from 35 metres by Tomas Quinlan.

Despite starting the second half strongly, Trinity conceded again when Niall Kenneally surged over for an unconverted try in the 51st minute. And a 30 metre break by Liam O’Connor in the 56th minute was finished to the corner by J.J.O’Neill for 16-3.

Tomas Quinlan kicked his second penalty to stretch Constitution’s lead to 19-3 in the 62nd minute, but despite their superiority, Constitution met stiff resistance in the final quarter that denied any further scoring.


G.Clancy (IRFU)

Con Players:

L.O’Connell; J.J.O’Neill, A.McHenry, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; T.Quinlan, J.Poland; L.O’Connor, V.O’Brien, G.Sweeney; B.Hayes, C.Kindregan; G.Lawler, J.Murphy, L.Cahill. Replacements: M.Abbott, R.Burke (3), R.O’Neill, J.Higgins (9), D.Lyons (13).

Con Scorers:

N.Kenneally 1T; J.J.O’Neill 1T; T.Quinlan 3P.

Dublin University Players:

M.Silvester; T.Maupin, M.Courtney, K.Dixon, B.O’Hora; B.Slater (Capt)., J.McDermott;  E.O’Sullivan, A.Keating, P.Finlay; P.Dargan, J.Burke (Capt.); N.O’Riordan, D.O’Flynn, T.Ryan. Replacements:  J.Boland (2); D.Higgins (3); R.Dunne (7); D.Joyce (6); P.Murphy (9).

Dublin University Scorers:

J.McDermott 1P.

Cork Constitution FC