Cork Con FC 1st XV 31 - 15 Highfield
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Munster Senior Cup – Semi-final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution won their Bank of Ireland sponsored Munster Senior Cup semi-final tie with Highfield, under lights at Templehill on Friday evening, to reach their fourth final in successive seasons.


Constittution built a ten point lead with a penalty by Tomas Quinlan, and a penalty try converted by Quinlan after 15 minutes. Highfield responded with an unconverted corner flag try by Ben Murphy in the 17th minute, but Constitution moved ahead with two quick-fire tries from Shane Daly after 26 minutes, and Ned Hodson two minutes later. Quinlan converted both, to leave Constitution 24-5 at the break.


Highfield responded with a try by lock Fintan O’Sullivan, converted by Luke Kingston, on 43 minutes. And Constitution’s supremacy was tested again, first when Luke Cahill was yellow-carded for a high tackle in the 53rd minute; and following a red card for Conor Kindregan in the 64th minute. Highfield front rower O’Callaghan received a yellow card in the same incident, but Kingston kicked a resultant penalty to close the gap to 24-15.


The result was confirmed when Alex McHenry scored Constitution’s fourth try in the 65th minute, and Quinlan added the extras for 31-15.


Constitution now await the winners of next week’s other semi-final between Young Munster and Cashel, for the final to be played at Irish Independent Park in Cork.


K.Barry MAR

Con Players:

S.Daly; L.O’Connell, N.Hodson, N.Kenneally Capt., R.Jermyn; T.Quinlan, B.Pope; G.Duffy, M.Abbott, G.Sweeney; C.Kindregan, B.Hayes; J.Murphy, R.O’Neill, L.Cahill. Replacements: J.McHenry (2); G.Roche (1), S.O’Leary (22), M.Clune (14), C.Barry (7,8), A.McHenry (11), D.Lyons (9).

Con Scorers:

S.Daly 1T; N.Hodson 1T; A.McHenry 1T; T.Quinlan 1PT1P4C.

Highfield Players:

P.Martin; J.McLoughlin, C.Cunningham, M.Dorgan, B.Murphy; L.Kingston, C.Bannon; D.O’Callaghan, D.Heay, C.Forse; D.Kelly, F.O’Sullivan; D.O’Connell, D.Lawe, J.Cronin. Replacements: D.O’Hea (2), I.McCarthy (3), C.Gallagher (1), O.Linell, K.Foyle (9), D.Horgan (15), D.Houlihan (12).

Highfield Scorers:

B.Murphy 1T; F.O’Sullivan 1T; L.Kingston 1C1P.

Cork Constitution FC