Cork Con FC 1st XV 30 - 10 Dublin University
Venue: College Park
Competition: Ulster Bank League Div.1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution defeated Dublin University at College Park on Saturday, before Ireland played Australia at Lansdowne Road later in the afternoon.


It was the first meeting between the clubs since 2005-06. And the result moves Constitution up to third place on 26 points, while Trinity drop to fourth on 22 points. Lansdowne lead on 30 points, with Young Munster second on 28 points.


Constitution started well against the students and lead 6-0 after 20 minutes, via two Tomas Quinlan penalties. Trinity hit back with a try in the 26th minute by Colm Hogan, who squeezed in at the left corner after a siege on the Constitution line. And Fennelly kicked a fine conversion for the lead. However, Constitution took the interval honours  at 9-7, when Tomas Quinlan converted a penalty in the 37th minute, following a drive into the Trinity 22 led by Brian Hayes.


And Constitution extended the lead to 16-7 in the 46th minute when Ross O’Neill , who had replaced Graeme Lawler, was at the end of a line-out maul driven to the line by the pack. Quinlan’s conversion was good for 16-7. Jack Fennelly reduced the arrears for the students with a penalty on 51 minutes, after Conor Kindregan had received a yellow card for a late tackle.


However, Constitution consolidated their advantage in the final quarter. Brain Hayes scored in the 65th minute after a line-out break by scrum-half Poland; Quinlan converted for 23-10. And captain Niall Kenneally scored Constitution’s third try in the 70th minute with a determined run through the middle; Quinlan’s conversion brought up the thirty points.


P.Haycock (IRFU)

Con Players:

L.O’Connell; J.J.O’Neill, N.Hodson, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; T.Quinlan, J.Poland; L.O’Connor, M.Abbott, R.Burke; B.Hayes, C.Kindregan; G.Lawler, J.Murphy, E.Mintern. Replacements: G.Sweeney (1), G.Duffy (3), R.O’Neill (6), B.Pope (11), M.Clune (14).

Con Scorers:

R.O’Neill 1T; B.Hayes 1T; N.Kenneally 1T; T.Quinlan 3P3C.

Dublin University Players:

J.Kelly; B.Mollen, M.Courtney, K.Dixon, J.Fleming; J.Fennelly, D.Joyce; E.O’Sullivan, A.Keating, P.Finlay; P.Dargan, J.Burke (Capt.); S.Pim, D.O’Flynn, T.Ryan.

Replacements:  L.Cronin, F.Murphy, C.O’Dwyer, T.Whittle, E.Dyson.

Dublin University Scorers:

C.Hogan 1T; J.Fennelly 1P1C.

Cork Constitution FC