Cork Con FC 1st XV 24 - 17 Clontarf
Venue: Templehill
Competition: All Ireland League Division 1
Match Report:

A little bit of rugby history was made at Temple Hill today, when Joy Neville became the first woman to referee a Division 1 AIL fixture, and she received a warm reception, both prior and after the game, from the teams and spectators alike, for a job well done.


This game between the sides was their 25th meeting, since the inauguration of the AIL in 199. And since the sequence between the clubs began in 1997/98 season, there have been 25 matches between the clubs, including the final last season. Constitution have now won 16 times, to Clontarf’s nine, though Clontarf won last year’s AIB final.


On a fine Temple Hill surface, and with no wind to contend with, Clontarf started well, and took a seven point lead after just three minutes, when centre Matt Darcy went in unchallenged for a try, converted by Conor Jennings. Constitution, resplendent in new shirts, hit back with a try by Shane Daly in the 8th minute after a multi-phase attack. And Tomas Quinlan tied up the scores with the conversion.


Quinlan missed a penalty chance on 16 minutes, but Clontarf hit the front again in the 24th minute with a try at the posts by flanker Adrian Daly, converted by Jennings. Constitution drew level in the 31st minute, with a try by James Murphy from a line-out maul, converted by Quinlan, to tie up the scores at 14 points each. However, a long-range penalty by Jennings in the 34th minute, gave Clontarf the interval lead at 14-17.


Tomas Quinlan was off-target with a long range penalty shot in the 48th minute, but a few minutes later he converted a try by Ned Hodson, after Shane Daly made the running from half-way. 21-17 to Constitution.


Quinlan missed again with a penalty shot in the 62nd minute, but converted a similar effort in the 65th minute for 24-17, when scrum-half du Toit was sin-binned. And while Clontarf fought to the finish, excellent defensive work denied them an improvement on the losing bonus point.


Joy Neville IRFU

Con Players:

S.Daly; L.O’Connell, N.Hodson, N.Kenneally Capt., A.McHenry; T.Quinlan, J.Poland; L.O’Connor, M.Abbott, R.Burke; C.Kindregan, B.Hayes; G.Lawler, J.Murphy, E.Mintern. Replacements: V.O’Brien , G.Sweeney (3), S.Dwyer (6), J.J.O’Neill, D.Lyons.

Con Scorers:

S.Daly 1T; J.Murphy 1T; N.Hodson 1T; T.Quinlan 1P3C.

Clontarf Players:

C.Jennings; S.Long, M.Browne, M.Darcy, M.McGrath; E.Ryan, S.Cronin; V.Aldafadge, R.Lichfield, R.Burke-Flynn; B.Reilly Capt., T.Byrne; M.Noone, A.Darcy, T.Ryan.

Replacements: J.Larbey (3); K.Moran (4); D.Doyle (7); P.duToit (9); M.Sutton.

Clontarf Scorers:

M.Darcy 1T; A.Darcy 1T; C.Jennings 2C1P.

Cork Constitution FC