Cork Con FC 1st XV 38 - 19 Galwegians
Venue: Glenina, Galway
Competition: Bateman Cup Final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution won the Bateman Cup for an unprecedented fourth year in succession with a comprehensive win over a gallant Galwegians side at Crowley Park, Glenina.


Constitution forged a 20-12 half time lead with the benefit of the fresh breeze, and never released their grip in a tense second period. And, although the home side were relegated from the top division this season, they gave a great account of themselves in this very well-contested final.


Tomas Quinlan gave Constitution an 8th minute lead with a 35 metre penalty, and added the points to a try by his scrum half partner Ryan Foley’s 18th minute try, after Brian Hayes had won a line-out and made a 20 metre drive for the line.


Galwegians hit back in the 24th minute with a try by New Zealander, Api Pewhairangi, who burst through the centre from a scrum on the 22 metre line. However, the conversion was missed, and from the next play Quinlan slotted a 32 metre penalty for 13-5.


Constitution lost centre Ned Hodson to a knee injury on the half hour, and from a 5 metre scrum, Gawegians set up Brian Murphy to score as he ran into the gap left by Hodson. Moynihan converted to close the gap to 13-12. Then in the 38th minute, Hodson’s replacement, Shane Daly latched on to Quinlan’s grubber kick for Constitution’s second try, and Quinlan’s converion brought up the half time score at 20-12.


Quinlan missed a couple of drop goal chances on either side of half time, but he kept the score ticking over for his side with a second penalty in the 44th minute. And again on the hour mark he knocked over a 25 metre penalty for 26-12.


Then in the 65th minute, Galwegians got some renewed hope when wing John Cleary got space and crashed over. David Clarke’s conversion from the touchline closed the deficit to one score at 26-19. But when Galwegians had second row Martin Cummins sin-binned, Constitution struck again with an unconverted try by hooker Max Abbott.


And Constitution closed out the game in the final minutes when scrum half Ryan Foley scooped up a loose ball to score his second try, and deservedly earn the ‘man of the match’ award. Quinlan converted, and Constitution were home and dry.


IRFU President, Martin O’Sullivan was on hand to present the Bateman Cup to the ‘bloodied, but unbowed’ Constitution captain James Ryan for the fourth season in succession, a feat only achieved by Lansdowne in the distant past.


N.Correll IRFU

Con Players:

D.Sweetnam; A.Spring, N.Hodson, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; T.Quinlan, R.Foley; G.Duffy, M.Abbott, G.Sweeney; C.Kindregan, B.Hayes; G.Lawler, J.Murphy, J.Ryan. Replacements: L.O’Connor, R.Burke, C.O’Flaherty, L.Cahill, J.Poland, S.Daly, D.Lyons.

Galwegians Players:

J.Cleary; C.Brennan, B.Murphy, A.Pewhairangi, E.O’Keeffe; A.Moynihan, B.Lee; J.Naughton Capt., J.Anaya, J.East; M.Cummins, D.Nolan; M.Kelly, J.Pim, A.Ryan. Replacements: P.Curran, D.McHugh, D.O’Connor, M.Towey,D.Clarke, A.McMahon, E.Dowling.

Cork Constitution FC