Cork Con FC 1st XV 26 - 16 Galwegians
Venue: Templehill
Competition: AIL Div 1
Match Report:

Cork Constitution defeated Galwegians to claim a top-four AIL Division 1 finish, after a well-contested final fixture of this season’s league campaign. Trailing 5-9 at the break, they added three second-half tries to claim a bonus-point victory.


The opening-half play was somewhat tentative as the sides probed each other’s defences in near-perfect playing conditions. Two penalties by Aidan Moynihan gave the visitors a first quarter lead, before Constitution opened their account with an unconverted try by James Ryan in the right corner. Three minutes later, a yellow card for Luke Cahill left Constitution a man down until the break, and Galwegians took the lead from the resultant penalty by Moynihan. However, Moynihan missed a similar chance before the break to leave just four points between the sides at half-time.


Constitution took the lead in the 50th minute with a try, when hooker Max Abbott was at the end of a maul to the line. Quinlan’s conversion put Constitution 12-9 ahead. 


However, Galwegians hit back in the 68th minute with centre Cormac Brennan running in from 30 metres. And Moynihan’s conversion restored his side’s four point lead.


But Constitution found an extra gear in the final 10 minutes, when Arthur Spring and Niall Kenneally scored well-worked tries, both converted by  Quinlan, to give the home side a ten point winning margin, and a valuable four-try bonus point.


Clontarf, winners over UCD, head the final table on 64 points, while Constitution edged out Young Munster on points difference for second place. And UCD fill the fourth spot.


For the play-off series, the pairings will be: Clontarf v UCD and Cork Constitution v Young Munster; to be played on next Saturday 23rd April. The final is set for the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 8th May.


Meanwhile, Constitution will meet Galwegians again in the Bateman Cup Final in Galway on Saturday 30th April.


S.Gaffikin IRFU.

Con Players:

T.Quinlan; A.Spring, N.Kenneally, N.Hodson, R.Jermyn; D.Lyons, R.Foley; L.O’Connor, M.Abbott, R.Burke; C.Kindegan, B.Hayes; G.Lawler, L.Cahill, J.Ryan Capt. Replacements: G.Slattery (3), B.Quinlan (1), J.Murphy (8), J.Poland (9), S.Daly (10).

Con Scorers:

J.Ryan 1T; M.Abbott 1T; A.Spring 1T; N.Kenneally 1T; T.Quinlan 3C.

Galwegians Players:

J.Cleary; E.O’Keeffe, C.Brennan, A.Phewhiri, A.Leavy; A.Moynihan, B.Lee; J.Naughton Capt., J.Anaya, J.East; M.Cummins, D.Nolan; M.Kelly, J.Pim, A.Ryan. Replacements: P.Curran, C.Kyne, M.Towey, A.McMahon, R.Parata.

Galwegians Scorers:

C.Brennan 1T; A.Moynihan 1C3P.

Cork Constitution FC