Cork Con FC 1st XV 15 - 13 Lansdowne
Venue: Lansdowne
Competition: Ulster Bank League Division 1A
Match Report:

Cork Constitution  travelled to Lansdowne for their return AIL fixture in the knowledge that points for ‘top four’ qualification are getting harder to win by the week. In the first match at Templehill the sides shared the points in a 22-22 draw.


It was a wet afternoon at the Aviva Stadium as the teams took the back pitch, prior to the main event, when Leinster and Munster engaged in their Pro12 match. Con’s record on the all-weather pitch before today was two games won and two lost.


Constitution took a 29th minute lead with a penalty try awarded for a pulled-down scrum near the line, that Tomas Quinlan converted. However, Lansdowne hit back with a try by Mick Darcy, converted by Deasy, who also added penalty for 8-7 to the home side.


Constitution regained the lead with a try by Aaron Spring, converted by Quinlan for 12-8.
And a second penalty by Tomas Quinlan pushed Con to 15-8, before Lansdowne hit back with a try by Ireland Club international Mick Roche, to finish the scoring.


The result, with one round of matches remaining, means that Constitution have qualified for the Top Four play-off sequence, together with Clontarf (60pts), Young Munster (52), Constitution (51) and UCD (47). Next week, Constitution are at home to Galwegians, while Young Munster play Lansdowne at Greenfields. And those outcomes will determine the play-off pairings.


While Constitution were delighted with their team performance against the now-dethroned League champions, in this most vital game of the season, the attached photo of the match scene at the rear of the East Stand begs the question, where is the AIL going, if this is what the best Club players can expect, at the crucial stage of the competititon. Playing at 1.30pm, on a plastic all-weather pitch, as the Leinster and Munster fans were filling the stadium bars prior to the Leinster-Munster Pro12 encounter.


D.Phillips IRFU

Con Players:

T.Quinlan; A.Spring, N.Hodson, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; D.Lyons, J.Poland; G.Duffy, M.Abbott, R.Burke; C.Kindregan, B.Hayes; G.Lawler, J.Ryan Capt., L.Cahill. Replacements: B.Quinlan, G.Sweeney, C.O’Flaherty, R.Foley, S.Daly.

Con Scorers:

Aaron Spring 1T; Tomas Quinlan 1T1C1P.

Lansdowne Scorers:

E.Quinn 1T; M.Roche 1T; S.Deasy 1P.

Cork Constitution FC