Cork Con FC U20 70 - 8 Highfield
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Munster U20 League - Division 1 - Donal Walsh Trophy
Match Report:

Cork Constitution scored an emphatic win over Highfield in the opening match in their defence of the Donal Walsh Under 20 Trophy. On a fine afternoon at Templehill, they led 30-8 at half time with three tries, and added five more in the second period, to comfortably take the spoils with a try bonus point.


Highfield did start brighly, and took an early lead with a penalty from Gavin O’Leary. But, out half Jamie Murphy settled Constitution with three penalties, to lead 9-3 by mid-way in the half.


A break by Constitution scrum half John Poland in the 25th minute, set up flanker Rob Walsh for the first try, converted by Murphy. And four minutes later, he added the extras to a try by Daniel Walsh following a line-out, to move the score to 23-3.


Highfield lost second row Simon Molloy in the 34th minute, but immediatley made light of his loss with a try by centre Jack Arslan. However, Constitution hit back before the break with tries by Sean Gray and Shane Daly, both converted by Murphy, to leave Constitutoon well in command at 37-8.


Rory Horgan and Shane O’Leary scored tries early in the second half, both converted by Murphy, to push Constitution out to 51-8. Front row Greg Roche scored a try in the 56th minute following a line-out maul to the line. And while Jamie Murphy misssed that conversion, he then scored a try of his own, and added that conversion, and to a penalty try awaded in the final minutes for a perfect return.


E.Hogan O’Connell MAR

Con Players:

S.Kennedy; S.Gray, S.Daly, R.Horgan, A.O’Keeffe; J.Murphy, J.Poland; L.Walsh, D.Coughlan, G.Roche; C.Murphy, C.Barry; R.Walsh, D.Walsh, E.Mintern. Replacements: R.Nyhan, I.O’Brien, S.O’Leary, K.Daly, S.Hickey, E.Lacey, J.Ahern.

Con Scorers:

R.Walsh 1T; D.Waldh 1T; S.Gray 1T; S.Daly 1T; R.Horgan 1T; S.O’Leary 1T; G.Roche 1T; J.Muphy 1T1PT2P8C.

Highfield Players:

S.Cox; J.O’Drsicoll, D.O’Sullivan, J.Arslan, R.Busteed; G.O’Leary, S.Horgan; P.Butler, J.Norris, I.McCarthy; J.Crowley, S.Molloy; C.Harrington, S.Foyle, J.Creagh. Replacements: R.McCarthy, T.O’Leary, N.O’Connor, C.Connolly, C.O’Donovan, A.Lyons.

Highfield Scorers:

J.Arslan 1T; G.O’Leary 1P

Cork Constitution FC