Cork Con FC U20 19 - 11 Bruff
Venue: Killballyowen, Co. Limerick
Competition: U20 Donal Walsh Trophy Div.1 Playoffs
Match Report:

Cork Constitution U20 XV won their third game in the Donal Walsh Trophy play off sequence, with another hard earned win over Bruff, under lights at Killballyowen on Saturday evening. 


Constitution started well and scored the opening try in the 8th minute from captain Micahel Murphy, but the conversion was missed.  However, Bruff hit back late in the half with two penalties by James Guinan in the 30th and 38th minutes, to leave Bruff 6-5 ahead at the break.


Bruff  winger Shane Doona got in for a try in the 46th minute, again not converted, but Bruff had certainly laid down their challenge by then. That spurred Constitution into all out attack, and they responded with tries by Kerry Desmond and Rory Horgan. Jason Higgins, deputising for regular #10 Tomas Quinlan, who played for the senior team against Young Munster, converted both for 19-11.


Constitution kept pushing for the fourth try, but ran out of time. Overall, it was a good contest in which Constitution had to dig deep for their ultimate success. 


The scheduled referee did not appear, and the game was refereed by Pamela Brown, a local lady referee, which was a first for the Constitution team.    


Constitution now lead the table on 30 points from NUIG on 23 points after three games. 


Next Saturday, Constitution will be on the road again, when they travel to meet NUIG-Corinthians at Corinthian Park, Galway.


Pamela Brown (Bruff)

Con Players:

P.Hegarty; J.O’Flynn, J.J.O’Neill, R.Horgan, K.Desmond; J.Higgins, A.Dorgan; B.Quinlan, V.O’Brien, G.Roche; C.Murphy, G.Stokes; S.Hickey, L.O’Leary, M.Murphy Capt. 
Replacements: R.Nyhan (1); L.McManagan (2); R.O’Halloran (8); D.Fitzgerald (5); J.Murphy (6); L.O’Connell (15).

Con Scorers:

M.Murphy 1T; K.Desmond 1T; R.Horgan 1T; J.Higgins 2C

Bruff Players:

B.Fanning; S.Doona, L.Treacy, C.Tierney, J.Guinan; P.Doyle, D.O’Grady; S.Breen, E.O’Dea, B.Keogh; J.Keogh, A.O’Brien; D.Fanning, N.Mallon, T.O’Dwyer. Replacements: J.Carew, E.Finn, C.Casey, R.Laffan, J.Richardson, K.O’Riordan, C.Ryan, C.O’Dwyer.

Bruff Scorers:

S.Doona 1T; J.Guinan 2P

Cork Constitution FC