Cork Con FC U20 17-11 University College Cork
Venue: Templehill
Competition: U20 South Munster Cup
Match Report:

Cork Constitution defeated University College Cork in the South Munster Cup quarter-final tie at Templehill on Saturday, in another well-contested encounter. Constitution led 10-6 at the break, but only a last minute try deprived the students, after a ding-dong second half.


When the teams met in the League in October Constitution won 22-3, but since then there have been a number of changes in personnel. Front row Liam O’Connell gave Constitution an early lead when he got the touchdown after a strong drive to the line following a 5 metre line out. At the mid-point in the half, Constitution got a fortunate break when wing J.J.O’Neill intercepted a College move, to sprint to the line from 25 metres. Both conversions were missed, but Constitution were well worthy of their 10-0 lead at that stage. However, College hit back with two successful penalty goals by Dylan Horgan before the break, to leave Constitution in the lead at 10-6.


College were unfortunate to strike a post with a penalty on 50 minutes, and took the lead in the 75th minute when wing Eoin O’Carroll latched on to a precise cross-field punt by Dylan Horgan to score a try in the right corner. The conversion was missed, but College now led 10-11 with only injury time to be played.


However, the match was decided in an exciting final play, when Constitution flanker Luke O’Leary sliced over, and Jason Higgins converted to close out the game.


A.Butson MAR

Con Players:

J.J.O’Neill; J.O’Flynn, K.Desmond, R.Horgan, A.Dorgan; J.Higgins, J.Higgins; B.Quinlan, R.Flanagan, L.O’Connor; G.Stokes Capt. C.Murphy; M.Carey, L.O’Leary, S.Hickey. Replacements: G.Roche, R.Nyhan, L.McManagan, K.Daly, D.Fitzgerald, R.O’Halloran, J.Ahern.

Con Scorers:

L.O’Connor 1T; J.J.O’Neill 1T; L.O’Leary 1T; J.Higgins 1C.

University College Cork Players:

S.O’Sullivan; E.O’Carroll, T.Cronin, A.McCarthy, F.O’Nuallain; D.Horgan, M.Ryan;  S.Hogan, C.Fagan, C.Jennings;  J.Barnes, A.Hogan; D.Lane, C.Barry, P.O’Regan. Replacements: J.McHenry, A.Roche, K.Hurley, E.Perry, S.McHugh, C.Healy, K.O’Keeffe.

University College Cork Scorers:

E.O’Carroll 1T; D.Horgan 2P.

Cork Constitution FC