Cork Con FC 1st XV 28 - 16 Young Munster
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Munster Senior Cup Semi-final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution qualified for the Munster Senior Cup final with a clear-cut win over Young Munster at Templehill on Saturday. Played in cold, but fine winter sunshine, Constitution led 11-3 at the break and, though Young Munster closed to 18-13 mid-way in the half, Constitution pulled away in the final quarter, to claim their place in the final against Garryowen, who defeated UL-Bohemian in the other semi-final.


Graeme Lawler made the first incisive break in the opening 10 minutes, but it was Garryowen who got the first score when Willie Staunton dropped a fine goal from 40 metres in the 10th minute. Centre Rory Horgan notched a try for Constitution in the 15th minute after a smart interchange with Dara Lyons. And Lyons kicked penalties in the 20th and 36th minutes to give Constitution their 11-3 interval lead.


Constitution started the second period on the front foot with a try from a rolling maul by Andrew O’Driscoll, converted by Dara Lyons. But Young Munster hit back with a similar score by their pack after 50 minutes, the try being awarded to hooker Ger Slattery. Ben Martin kicked the conversion for 18-10. And Martin kicked a penalty in the 60th minute to set up an exciting final quarter at 18-13 to the home side.


However, Constitution quickly secured the game with an unconverted try by Niall Kenneally in the 62nd minute, and a penalty by Tomas Quinlan in the final minutes finished the scoring.


In the other semi-final Garryowen defeated UL-Bohemian 23-3, so the scene is set for another Con-Garryowen final, and while the venue will be in Cork, it is yet to be announced which Cork venue will host the final on Saturday 27th December.


O.Hodges MAR

Con Players:

M.Keyes; K.Desmond, R.Horgan, N.Kenneally, R.Jermyn; D.Lyons, G.Hurley Capt.; G.Duffy, A.O’Driscoll, C.Corkery; D.O’Brien, F.McSwiney; G.Lawler, S.Dwyer, J.Ryan. Replacements: S.Galvin, G.Murray (1), A.Ross, J.Murphy (6), L.Cahill (7), A.Dorgan, T.Quinlan (12).

Con Scorers:

R.Horgan 1T; A.O’Driscoll 1T; N.Kenneally 1T; D.Lyons 2C2P; T.Quinlan 1P.

Young Munster Players:

B.Martin; E.Carr, E.O’Keeffe, K.Hifo, D.O’Connor; W.Staunton, E.Mulcahy; E.Ryan, G.Slattery, G.Ryan; D.Gallagher, T.Goggin; Y.Browne, D.Ryan, S.Rennison. Replacements: L.O’Halloran, P.Allen, G.Flaherty, P.Staff, M.Madden, C.O’Halloran, C.Clohessy (all played).

Young Munster Scorers:

G.Slattery 1T; W.Staunton 1DG; B.Martin 1C3P.

Cork Constitution FC