Cork Con FC 1st XV 23 - 16 Ballynahinch
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Ulster Bank League Division 1A
Match Report:

Cork Constitution gained their first win in their Ulster Bank League campaign with success over Ballynahinch at Templehill on Saturday. After losses to Old Belvedere and Lansdowne they will be relieved to have taken the four points on offer. Having led 10-3 at the break, Ballynahinch closed to 10-8, but a try and conversion after 50 minutes by last season’s Under 20 star Tomas Quinlan settled them and them and two further late penalties saw them home.

Constitution made three changes in their starting team from last Saturday’s defeat by Lansdowne. Tomas Quinlan started at out half in place of skipper Gerry Hurley, who missed the game through injury. Michael Keyes started at centre after an illness caused him to miss the previous game. In all there were eight of last season’s Under 21 squad in the match panel.

Darragh Lyons drew first blood with a 5th minute penalty after a deliberate knock down by the defence. In the 11th minute Rob Jermyn scored in the right corner after a break out led by Darragh Lyons and Luke Cahill. Lyons converted for 10-0 to the home side.

Richard Rainey, who had a mixed day with penalty chances, was successful with a penalty after 18 minutes, although he hit a post with a similar effort in the 26th minute.

Constitution had Ned Hodson yellow carded in the 29th minute, and worse followed in the 35th minute when scrum half Ryan Foley was injured, and had to leave the play. Darragh Lyons then went to No.9 to partner Thomas Quinlan..

Ballynahinch had a good attacking period after half time and full back Stephen McCauley scored a try in the 47th minute. However, Quinlan made his mark in the 50th minute with a kick and chase to the line for a try, converted by Lyons. 17-8 to Constitution.

Darragh Lyons kicked a penalty in the 70th minute to give Constitution a 12 point cushion, and it was needed as Ballynahinch finished strongly, when Kyle McCall scored a try from a maul for Ballynahinch in the 75th minute. 

Quinlan and Rainey exchanged penalties in the final minutes to leave the final score at 23-16 to Constitution.



Con Players:

D.Lyons (Capt.); C.McAuliffe, M.Keyes, N.Hodson, R.Jermyn; T.Quinlan, R.Foley; G.Duffy, A.O’Driscoll, R.Burke; C.O’Flaherty, G.Lawler; J.Murphy, J.Ryan, L.Cahill. Replacements: M.Abbott (2), C.Corkery (3), D.Moloney (4), S.Dwyer (6), J.J.O’Neill (9)

Con Scorers:

R.Jermyn 1T; T.Quinlan 1T1P; D.Lyons 2C2P.

Ballynahinch Players:

S.McCauley; R.Adair, S.Arnold, R.Reaney, R.Harte; H.McAleese; A.Cairns; J.Simpson, K.McCall, C.Trenier; J.Donnan, K.Morton; J.Simpson, P.Pritchard, C.Butterworth. Replacements: J.Jordan (3), J.McBriar (10), J.Murphy (2), M.Graham (1), S.Orr (3).

Ballynahinch Scorers:

S.McCauley 1T; K.McCall 1T; R.Rainey 2P.

Cork Constitution FC