Cork Con FC 1st XV 13 - 16 Lansdowne
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Ulster Bank League Division 1A
Match Report:

Despite a fine second-half fight-back, Cork Constitution were pipped by Lansdowne in an exciting finish to this Ulster Bank League tie at Templehill on Saturday. Lansdowne had taken a 13-3 first half lead, but were pegged back to level terms, only for an injury time penalty to gave the visitors the four points.


After last week’s disappointing outcome against Old Belvedere, Constitution were keen to renew their campaign. For this game, captain Gerry Hurley was named at out half, and partnered by Ireland U21 scrum half Ryan Foley.


Lansdowne got off the mark with a 3rd minute try scored by left wing Ian Fitzpatrick, when he ran on to a grubber kick to the line by former Constitution player Scott Deasy. Deasy added the conversion, and a then kicked a penalty in the 8th minute for 0-10 to the visitors.


Constitution got on the score sheet with a Gerry Hurley penalty in the 10th minute, but Deasy restored his side’s ten point advantage with a second penalty after 20 minutes.


Constitution received a further blow before the break, when second row Graeme Lawler was red carded after a forward melee in the 34th minute, but saw out until the break without a further concession.


Deasy and Hurley missed penalties in the second period before Lansdowne suffered a player loss for ten minutes, when wing Tom Farrell was yellow carded in the 67th minute. And Constitution scored immediately when Niall Kenneally got the touchdown after sustained pressure. The conversion was missed, but Constitution attacked with renewed spirit, and were rewarded when flanker James Murphy scored from a maul in the 76th minute. The conversion was again missed but the scores were now tied at 13 points each as the game entered injury time.


The game was finally decided when Scott Deasy kicked a penalty in the 8th minute of injury time, and in the circumstances Constitution will be disappointed to let the extra point slip, as a draw would have been a fair result.



Con Players:

D.Lyons; G.O’Suilleabhain, N.Kenneally, N.Hodson, R.Jermyn; G.Hurley, R.Foley; G.Duffy, A.O’Driscoll, C.Corkery; C.O’Flaherty, G.Lawler; J.Murphy, J.Ryan, L.Cahill. Replacements: A.Slattery (2), M.Abbott (1), A.Ross, S.Dwyer, T.Quinlan (14)

Con Scorers:

N.Kenneally 1T; J.Murphy 1T; G.Hurley 1P.

Lansdowne Players:

C.Kelleher; T.Farrell, M.Roche, T.Daly, I.Fitzpatrick; S.Deasy, A.Griggs; P.Dooley, T.Moran, A.Boland; B.Moylett, J.McSwiney; J.Dilger, A.Conneely, R.Boucher. Replacements: D.Donnellan, I.Prendeville (1), R.Deacon (5), P.O’Driscoll, C.McKeon (11).

Lansdowne Scorers:

I.Fitzpatrick 1T; S.Deasy 1C3P.

Cork Constitution FC