Cork Con FC 1st XV 16 - 14 Cashel
Venue: Cashel
Competition: Cork Charity Cup Final 2013-14
Match Report:

Cork Constitution won the Cork Charity Cup held over from last season in fairly dramatic style at Cashel on Sunday afternoon.

In dry, but breezy conditions, Constitution trailed 3-6 at half time. Darragh Lyons kicked an opening penalty for Constitution in the 5th minute, but Cashel were level two minutes later, and took the lead in the 18th minute, from two penalties kicked by #10 Ben Swindlehurst. Thirteen of the Constitution side had started against London-Irish at Templehill on Saturday, so the use of the bench was a vital ingredient in their approach.

New centre Joe Uprichard was yellow –carded just before the break, but Lyons drew Constitution level with a 55th minute penalty. The sides were level again at 9-9 after 65 minutes with further penalties from Lyons and Swindlehurst.

Cashel hit the front in the 70th minute when Kevin Leamy crashed over in the right corner. The conversion was missed, however, to give Constitution a chance in the final minutes.

Swindlehurst missed with a penalty chance to seal the game in the 73rd minute, but then Constitution scored after a sustained attack, when young scrum half Andrew Dorgan, playing his second full 80 minutes on successive days, stole away on the left, inside the Cashel 22, and set up Ned Hodson for a try in the corner. And Darragh Lyons gained the victory against his home town team with a fine conversion.

Munster Branch Deputy President, Bertie Smith, was on hand to present the Cup and medals to Constitution Captain Darragh Lyons. It was Constitution’s 43rd victory in the competition first played in 1905-06 when Jimmy Musgrave was the Constitution captain.

However, Constitution will have little time to celebrate as the game also doubled up as the first round of this season’s competition. And Constitution will meet Highfield next Saturday at Templehill in this season’s semi-final.



E.Hogan O’Connell MAR

Con Players:

C.McAuliffe; S.Keohane, N.Kenneally, N.Hodson, J.Uprichard; D.Lyons, A.Dorgan; G.Duffy, A.O’Driscoll, G.Sweeney; A.Ross, G.Lawler; J.Murphy, S.Dwyer, L.Cahill. Replacements: R.Daly, A.Slattery, D.Corkery, O.Hanley, D.McNamara, G.O’Suilleabhain, K.Desmond.

Con Scorers:

N.Hodson 1T; D.Lyons 3P1C.

Cashel Players:

A.Kelleher; R.Maher, E.Connolly, Z.Stryffeler, A.wallace; B.Swindlehurst, A.Bannon; J.Maxwell, N.Fitzgerald, H.Stanley; S.Walsh, B.Crosse; C.Murphy, M.Croose, E.Leamy. Replacements: M.Kelly, C.Ryan, B.O’Connor, A.Sweeney, D.McGrath, K.Leamy, D.O’Brien.

Cashel Scorers:

K.Leamy 1T; B.Swindlehurst 3P.

Cork Constitution FC