Cork Con FC J2 12 - 0 Mallow
Venue: Highfield RFC, Woodleigh Park.
Competition: Dennehy Cup Final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution won the Dennehy Cup at Highfield RFC on Sunday against a gallant Mallow side. The much-delayed final was played in near perfect conditions with Spring sunshine.

Constitution played against the wind and pitch incline in the first period and took the lead mid-way in the half with a try by Cilian O’Connor. It was the result of a powerful maul to the line by the Con pack. Simon Barry kicked the conversion, though he missed a couple of early penalty chances, to leave Constitution 7-0 at the break.

Despite having the advantage of the elements in the second period, Constitution made hard work of getting the clinching score, but Mallow had little in the way of attacking capability. The Constitution pack were to the fore throughout and they were well served by half backs Kevin Minihan and Simon Barry. The centre defence of Tadg Buckley and Daragh McNamara was never breached, and the back three of Cormac Doherty, Dave Hayes and Brian O’Leary dealt with every ball that came their way.

A knee injury to scrum half Kevin Minihan interrupted play for a period in the second half, but in the end, a fine break in the 72nd minute by out-half Simon Barry, carried on by Tadg Buckley, and finished in the left corner by Brian O’Leary, made the game safe for Constitution.

It was Constitution’s 19th victory in the Dennehy Cup since it was first played in 1972; the last success being in 2011, when Balllincollig were defeated 13-7 under the captaincy of John O’Donovan.

The Cup was present by Eamon Dennhey to Constitution captain, Cormac Fouhy, after the game, and a special tribute was paid to referee Barry Brunt, who has retired after forty year’s of service with the whistle.


B.Brunt MAR

Con Players:

C.Doherty; D.Hayes, T.Buckley, D.McNamara, B.O’Leary; S.Barry, K.Minihan; D.Abbott , D.O’Connell, E.Quinn; C.Fouhy Capt., C.O’Connor; S.Thornhill, N.Murphy, J.Young. Replacements: C.Parkes (1), S.Murray (2), D.Clarke (5), C.O’Mahony (9), P.Royale.

Con Scorers:

C.O’Connor 1T; B.O’Leary 1T; S.Barry 1C.

Cork Constitution FC