Cork Con FC U20 16 - 13 Lansdowne
Venue: Temple Hill
Competition: Under 20 Fraser McMullen Cup Semi-final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution U20 XV defeated Leinster champions Lansdowne at Temple Hill on Saturday in the semi final of the Fraser McMullen Cup after a close and hard fought encounter. Constitution trailed 6-10 at the interval, as the constant drizzle made accurate handling very difficult. Despite those conditions, both sides served up a very entertaining game, whose outcome was in doubt to the final whistle.

Tomas Quinlan gave Constitution an early advantage with a first minute penalty from 20 metres. But almost from the kick off, Lansdowne attacked, and a rash tackle on the right wing gave referee Paul Haycock little choice but to award a penalty try. Conor McKeown made no mistake in the conversion from in front of the posts. Quinlan kept Constitution in the game with a second penalty in the 10th minute, but McKeown restored Lansdowne’s half time advantage to 10-6 with his second penalty in the 39th minute.

McKeown and Quinlan continued to exchange penalties in the ten minutes after the interval, to leave the Dubliners with a 13-9 lead entering the final quarter. The decisive score came in the 70th minute, when a strong attack on the Lansdowne line ended with centre Conor Cunningham claiming a vital touch down from a clever kick to the line by Quinlan, who added the points from in front of the posts.

Throughout, Constitution’s defence was sound and they saw out the final minutes to claim a famous victory. It will be Constitution’s first National Final at this level, and in it they are scheduled to meet Terenure College, who defeated UCD in the other semi final.

The final to be played next Saturday 12th April, with times to be confirmed early in the week.


P.Haycock IRFU.

Con Players:

C.McAuliffe; G.Ryan, C.Cunningham, L.O’Connell, D.O’Sullivan; T.Quinlan, R.Foley; A.Slattery,M.Abbott, M.McTighe; G.Mullins, D.Moloney; D.Hurley, S.Dwyer, E.Beehinor. Replacements: M.O’Sullivan, S.Galvin, M.Coughlan, R.O’Halloran, J.Murphy, K.Clancy, A.Dorgan (all played).

Con Scorers:

C.Cunningham 1T; T.Quinlan 3P1C.

Lansdowne Players:

I.Fitzpatrick; C.Ryan, S.Coughlan, R.B.Kearney, J.McCormack; C.McKeown, D.Henry; C.Ganly, S.Delahunt, O.Hefferan; S.Gardiner Capt.,R.Catlin; R.Tyrell, S.Keelan, J.O’Neill. Replacements: J.McKenna, E.Moffitt, J.O’Shea, R.Trayer, B.Ridgeway, W.Lappin, G.Molloy.

Lansdowne Scorers:

C.McKeown 1PT1C2P.

Cork Constitution FC