Cork Con FC 1st XV 8 - 35 Ballynahinch
Venue: Temple Hill
Competition: Ulster Bank League Div.1A
Match Report:

Ballynahinch paid their first visit to Temple Hill on Saturday in the return Ulster Bank League tie. In September, Constitution had won a narrow 24-17 victory at Ballynahinch in the first game of the series, but on this occasion the men from County Down were well in control. In difficult conditions, the Ulstermen settled better and their pack used their bulk and strength to good effect.

Gerry Hurley kicked a first minute penalty for Constitution, but Ballynahinch took over two minutes later when Michael Graham powered over from a maul. Richie Lobb converted for 7-3. From the kick off Ballynahinch broke on the left and wing Robin Harte ran in a try that Lobb again converted. Constitution came into the game but made no headway before half time.

Constitution lost the ball in a tackle on their own 22 metre line in the 49th minute and centre Stuart Morrow sprinted away to score at the posts. Lobb added the points. Constitution lost Graeme Lawler to the sin-bin in the 60th minute, and wile he was ff David McGuigan scored the bonus point try for Ballnahinch from another maul over the home line. Lobb kicked the conversion for 28-3.

I the 71st minute Constitution finally put a move together when Eoin O’Donnell finishing a mid-field break by Conor Desmond. However, Ballynahinch finished the game as they started with a fifth try from Harte with another intercept. Lobbe converted for a fifth time to give Ballynahinch some real hope of avoiding relagtion.


K.Barry IRFU

Con Players:

C.Quinn; C.Desmond, N.Kenneally, M.Keyes, C.Desmond; D.Lyons, G.Hurley; J.Rochford, M.Abbott, G.Sweeney; J.McSwiney, G.Lawlor; Jas.Ryan, W.Ryan, L.Cahill. Replacements: R.Daly (2); G.Duffy (1); C.O’Flaherty (4);A.Ross (18); C.Jouve (15).

Con Scorers:

E.O’Donnell 1T; G.Hurley 1P.

Ballynahinch Players:

R.McBurney; R.Harte, S.Morrow, M.Arneill, D.McIllwaine; R.Lobb, A.Cairns; K.McCall, M.Nelson, C.Taylor; J.Madden, K.Morton; N.Faloon, D.McGuigan, M.Graham. Replacements: J.McBriar, A.Ferris, J.Kirk, C.Stevenson, A.Harper.

Ballynahinch Scorers:

R.Harte 2T; M.Graham 1T; S.Morrow 1T; D.McGuigan 1T; R.Lobbe 5C.

Cork Constitution FC