Cork Con FC J1 26 - 22 Bruff
Venue: Temple Hill
Competition: Munster Seconds League Quarter final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution defeated Bruff in the quarter final of the Munster Seconds League at Temple Hill on Sunday afternoon. In a well-contested game, constitution led 12-0 at the interval, but had to withstand a stern test in the second period. In the end it took an injury time try to secure the victory.

Rob Jermyn scored the opening try in the 7th minute after nice interplay between Yasin Browne and Philip O’Leary. Cyprian Jouve kicked the conversion for 7-0. A clever cross kick by Jouve in the 34th minute opened the way for wing Aaron Singleton to score in the left corner.

Andrew Breen missed a penalty chance for Bruff just before the break, but he made aends when scoring a try from a kick ahead to the line in the early minutes of the second period. However, he was injured in the event and had to retire. Bruff scored when a penalty try was awarded in the 46th minute for an early tackle and Barry Enright added the points for 12-12. Yasin Browne put Constitution back in front with arty fooling a line-out maul in the 53rd minute. Jouve again added the points for  19-12.

Bruff hit back with a penalty by Enright in the 56th minute, and when Gary Leonard scored following a 5 metre scrum in the 7t minute, it looked like a surprise was on the cards. Enright converted for 19-22. However, Constitution rallied and from an intense attack Mark O’Mahony sliced over for the winning try. Jouve added the extras to finish an exciting encounter.


Robert O’Sullivan MAR

Con Players:

A.Singleton; D.Hayes, S.McGinley, R.Jermyn, B.O’Leary; C.Jouve, P.O’Leary; G.Murray, R.Daly, C.Corkery; M.O’Mahony, Y.Browne; B.Fitzgerald, R.O’Halloran, A.Chaffee. Replacements: R.Flanagan (2), M.McTighe (1), A.Ross (6), J.Lehane.

Con Scorers:

R.Jermyn 1T; A.Singleton 1T; Y.Browne 1T; M.O’Mahony 1T; C.Jouve 3C.

Bruff Players:

B.Enright; M.Cook, G.Leonard, S.Walsh C.Tienan; A.Breen, T.Caroll; G.Collins, D.Mulcahy, P.J.Coffey; D.Power, P.Lynch; G.O’Connell, K.Madigan, B.Laffen. Replacements: E.Cook, B.Burke..

Bruff Scorers:

A.Breen 1T; G.Leonard 1T; B.Enright 1Pen Try,1P2C.

Cork Constitution FC