Cork Con FC 1st XV 25-22 UCC
Venue: Temple Hill
Competition: Crowley Cup
Match Report:

Tomas Quinlan was Cork Constitution’s match-winner in the annual Crowley Cup fixture against University College Cork at Temple Hill on St Stephens Day. In good conditions, just before a storm broke, Quinlan broke the deadlock with a drop goal in the last play of the game.

Constitution trailed 10-17 to the students at half time, but fought back with second half tries to tie up the match at 22 points each, and having just missed a penalty chance seconds earlier, Quinlan was successful with a drop goal from 25 metres in the final minute.

College got an early score when front-row Peter McCabe scored after 3 minutes. Quinlan converted a penalty chance in the 17th minute, and then scored after a 70 metre run, having intercepted a wayward pass on his own 22 metre line. He added the conversion for 10-5 to the home side.

However, College hit back before the break with tries by Charlie O’Regan and Joe Holland, the first converted by Sean Og Murphy, to leave College ahead 17-10 at the break.

Wing Chris McAuliffe scored for Constitution in the 54th minute from a clever punt to the line by scrum half Ryan Foley, but Kevin Kidney extended the College lead in the 64th minute with an unconverted try in the left corner.

Then, in the 72nd minute, the Con forwards forced a penalty try, converted by Quinlan for 22 points each, before the out half took the spoils with his last-ditch drop goal.


Eddi Hogan-O'Connell

Con Players:

A.Singleton; C.McAuliffe, L.O’Connell, C.Jouve, E.O’Donnell; T.Quinlan, S.McCarthy; J.Rochford, C.O’Donnell, G.Sweeney; A.Ross, Y.Browne; B.Fitzgerald, S.Dwyer, M.Murphy. Replacements: C.Corkery, A.Slattery, M.O’Mahony, R.Foley, B.Moore (All played).

Con Scorers:

C.McAuliffe 1T; T.Quinlan 1T1PT2C1DG

UCC Players:

B.Monahan; R.Slater, N.Hudson, J.Holland, S.Glynn; S.Murphy, C.O’Regan; P.McCabe, K.Stokes, C.Slowey; B.Quill, R.McCarthy; K.Farmer, D.Nolan, P.Derham. Replacements: D.Healy, K.Frost, K.Kidney, D.O’Riordan, K.O’Keeffe.

UCC Scorers:

P.McCabe 1T; C.O’Regan 1T; J.Holland 1T; K.Kidney 1T; S.Murphy 1C.

Cork Constitution FC