Cork Con FC 1st XV 17 - 23 UCD
Venue: Belfield
Competition: Ulster Bank League Division 1A
Match Report:

Cork Constitution lost their third Ulster Bank League game in succession to slip down the Division 1A table to seventh place, their lowest of the season. However, a losing bonus point will give some meagre consolation after a performance that lacked any real attacking purpose.

The first-half fare was poor, as the teams shared the spoils with a penalty scored by each side. Chris Quinn opened the scoring for Constitution after 13 minutes, and James Thornton equalised for UCD in the 20th minute. Joe McSwiney crossed the line in the minute before half time, but the referee ruled that the ball was not grounded, and Constitution could not avail from the 5 metre scrum that followed.

UCD posted their intent in the 3rd minute of the second half with a try by full back Andy Boyle after a blistering attack from their own half. Thornton added the conversion from the touchline.

When Constitution suffered two yellow cards for Lawler and McSwiney in the 50th and 55th minutes, Thornton made the game safe for the students with a penalty in the 60th minute, and the conversion of his own try in the 65th minute to lead 23-3.

Despite the deficit, credit is due to Constitution for a dogged fight-back in the final 10 minutes. Alan Ross finished off a drive from a 5 metre scrum with a try converted by Quinn in the 73rd minute, and James Ryan scored in the last minute to give Quinn the chance to secure a losing bonus point, which he did with an excellent conversion.



G.Conway IRFU.

Con Players:

D.Lyons; C.Desmond, L.Duffy, R.Jermyn, Chris Quinn; J.Holland, G.Hurley; G.Duffy, A.O’Driscoll, John Ryan; C.O’Flaherty, J.McSwiney; G.Lawler, Jas.Ryan, W.Ryan. Replacements: M.Abbott (2), J.Rochford (1), L.Cahill (8), A.Ross (6), C.Jouve (12).


Con Scorers:

James Ryan 1T; A.Ross 1T; Chris Quinn  2C1P.

UCD Players:

A.Boyle; S.Coghlan-Murray, J.Coghlan, A.Kelly, B.Daly; J.Thornton, R.Shanley; R.Harrison, A.Clarkin, K.Moloney; B.Cawley, E.McMahon; D.Lawler, D.Leavy, E.Joyce. Replacements: L.Hyland, R.Byrne, P.Timmins, B.Holland,  N.Earls. (All Played).

UCD Scorers:

A.Boyle 1T; J.Thornton 1T1DG1P2C

Cork Constitution FC