Cork Con FC 1st XV 9 - 14 Dolphin
Venue: Musgrave Park
Competition: Ulster Bank League Div.1A
Match Report:

Dolphin won the first Cork local derby of the season at Musgrave Park, where a fine second half try by winger Darren Sweetnam was the clinching score. The try came on the hour mark in a tight contest, and was the key moment in the game. The game was tied at six points each with penalties being the only scores. Rory Scannell made the mid-field break that gave Sweetnam the opportunity to slide over. 

Constitution started well, and had the better of the opening exchanges. They took the lead on 10minutes with a penalty from Jonathan Holland. Four minutes later, Dolphin were level from a penalty by Rory Scannell. Both sides missed further penalty chances before the break, and so it remained 3-3 at the interval.

Scrum half Ryan Foley was yellow carded in the 42nd minute for a rash challenge from an off-side position, and Scannell put Dolphin ahead from the penalty. In the 48th minute Dolphin were held on the line, after a fine break by centre Bohane. However, Holland tied up the scores with a second penalty on 57 minutes.

Sweetnam’s try came in the 61st minute to set the challenge for the visitors, but it was Scannell again in the 66th minute who stretched Dolphin’s lead to 14-6 with a penalty.

Constitution made that valiant late challenge with some good approach play in the final 10 minutes. They elected for a line out, in preference to a scrum near the line, after Dolphin had a player sin-binned, but lost possession. A successful penalty by Holland in the 76th minute kept the game alive, however, there was no further opportunity and in the end a losing bonus point was Constitution’s lot.


N.Correll IRFU.

Con Players:

D.Lyons; Chris Quinn, N.Kenneally, L.Duffy, Cathal Quinn; J.Holland, R.Foley; B.Cagney, A.O’Driscoll, G. Sweeney; S.O’Connor, C.O’Flaherty; J.McSwiney, Jas.Ryan, W.Ryan. Replacements: M.Abbott (3), G.Duffy, J.Rochford (1), R.Burke (2), L.Cahill (4), C.Desmond (9).

Con Scorers:

J.Holland 3P.

Dolphin Players:

E.Mills; D.Sweetnam, J.Gleeson, C.Bohane, H.Fleming; R.Scannell, C.Nolan; B.Scott, N.Scannell, C.Condon; D.O’Mahony, S.O’Shea; J.Quill, R.Murphy, J.Fitzgerald.  Replacements: W.Foley (2), P.Ryan (3), M.Cronin, C.Bannon

Dolphin Scorers:

D.Sweetnam 1T; R.Scannell 3P.

Cork Constitution FC