Cork Con FC J1 29 - 0 St. Senans
Venue: Slattery Park
Competition: Munster Junior Cup
Match Report:

Cork Constitution eventually got their much-delayed Munster Junior Cup campaign underway at Jimmy Slattery Park in Shannon Town on Sunday. Despite the unpleasant arctic weather they controlled the early play to lead 24-0 at the break. Sensibly, the referee wisely allowed the players to go to the dressing rooms at the interval, as the easterly wind took its toll.

Philip O’Leary had given Constitution a fourth minute lead when he finished off a series of pick and goes by his forwards. Alan Ross doubled the score on 20 minutes as Con were rewarded for determined forward play. Brian Derham scored a neat try in the 32nd minute when he followed up his punt to the line, and he added the conversion for 24-0. Eoin O’Donnell came off his wing to score a fourth try just before the break taking an inside pass from Pat Parfrey to score at the posts. Derham added the extra points for 24-0 at the break.

The second period was more attritional as both sides struggled with the cold rain and biting wind. A number of scoring chances went a-begging, but the Con forwards, for whom Dave O’Brien and Yasin Browne were dominant out of touch, together with the forceful play of No.8 Alan Ross ensured that their gallant opposition got few chances. In the end, a fifth try by powerful wing Jayde Cruickshank in the 65th minute confirmed Con’s superiority.

In the next round Constitution will meet Old Christians next Sunday at Temple Hill.


M. Doyle

Con Players:

C.Healy; E.O’Donnell, B.Derham, S.Glynn, J.Cruikshank; P.Parfrey, P.O’Leary; G.Murray, C.Scannell, C.Corkery; Y.Browne, D.O’Brien, B.Fitzgerald,  A.White, A.Ross.

Con Scorers:

P.O’Leary 1T; A.Ross 1T; E.O’Donnell 1T; J.Cruickshank 1T; B.Derham 1T2C.

St. Senans Players:

A.McMahon; D.Dunne, N.McDonagh,D.Collins, B.Collins; P.Noone, D.McCoy; P.Ryan, F.Lawler, M.Lynch; D.Fitzgerald, R.Phelan; D.Webb, E.O’Donoghue, S.Ryan.

Cork Constitution FC