Cork Con FC J2 15 - 11 Mallow
Venue: Temple Hill
Competition: Dennehy Cup Quarter Final
Match Report:

Cork Constitution qualified for the semi final of the Dennehy Cup at Temple Hill on Sunday morning with a fortunate win over a skilled Mallow outfit. The sides were level at five points each at the interval and at 8-8 after 60 minutes. Mallow then took a three point lead, but Constitution rallied to score the winning points in the final10 minutes.

Constitution full back Kieran Clancy got the first score with a clever grubber kick to the line which he collected for the try. The same player was sin-binned a few minutes later but Mallow missed an opportunity to close the gap. But Mallow got back on level terms just before half time with a smart try by wing Martin O’Connell.

O’Connell gave Mallow the lead 10 minutes into the second half with a penalty, but missed another five minutes later. Simon Barry brought Con level again on the hour mark from a penalty, But Mallow hit back with a second O’Connell penalty to lead 11-8 with 10 minutes remaining.

Darren O’Connell scored the winning try from a concerted Con forward drive. Barry missed the conversion, but Con had done enough to set up a semi final date with Kinsale next Sunday at Temple Hill.

For Constitution, skipper Kevin Minihan and Simon Barry were smooth half back partners, while Kieran Clancy was reliable and inventive form full back. Regulars Cormac Fouhy, Cilian O’Connell and Dave O’Brien performed weel in the pack and were ably supported by Ronan Barry, Fergus Roan and try scorer Darren O’Connell at hooker.

The Constitution coaching team of Eoin Quinlan, Eric Treacy and Paul Derham supported by selectors Don Mullins and Colm Murphy, together with Manager Der O’Riordan and Team Sec. Joe Griffin, will be well pleased to have overcome a gallant team in their first competitive game and look forward to next week’s challenge of Kinsale.


Con Players:

B.O’Leary; P.Hadbi, D.Hayes, K.Clancy, S.Jarvis; S.Barry, K.Minihan Capt.; E.Quinn, D.O’Connell, D.O’Brien; C.O’Connor, C.Fouhy; D.Leung, N.Murphy, F.Rowan. Replacements: B.Halpin, C.Parkes, S.Murray, R.Barry, N.Courtney, D.HCon Scorers:

K.Clancy 1T; D.O’Connell 1T; S.Barry 1P.

Cork Constitution FC