Cork Con FC J1 40 - 8 Kilfeacle
Venue: Templehill
Competition: Munster Junior Cup
Match Report:

Cork Constitution qualified for the Munster Junior Cup semi final with a comfortable win over Kilfeacle & District RFC at Temple Hill on Sunday. However, despite the final score, Constitution were made to work very hard for 55 minutes before a try by wing Shane Kelly settled them, and from there they scuttled home. 

Out half Sean Murphy gave Constitution the lead with an 8th minute penalty, and he scored a fine try in the 15th minute when he looped outside his centres to score in the right corner. Kilfeacle struck back with an opportunist try in the 23rd minute. Having disrupted a Con back line move on their own 22 metre line, they kicked ahead and won the chase to the other goal line where wing Josh Featherstone touched down.  A penalty at a scrum in the 34th minute was converted by Gavin Ryan to tie up the scores before the break ay 8 points each.

As the Constitution forwards exerted their superiority in the third quarter, Murphy kicked his side ahead with penalties in the 44th, 50th and 53rd minutes to stretch his side’s lead to 14-8. Shane Kelly’s decisive score came in the 55th minute when he cut back inside to touch down at the posts. Murphy converted for 21-8 and then Con went into overdrive. Eoin O’Donnell scored a brilliant individual try in the 58th minute with a scorching run from his own 22 metre line. Murphy added the conversion. In the final quarter Constitution used their replacements to keep up the momentum, and scored further tries from Alan Ross and Conor Desmond after 68 and 73 minutes. Murphy converted the last try to bring up the 40 points.

It was a good Cork Constitution team performance, with Alex Ryan and Sean Murphy forming a fine half back partnership, and the pack were well served by the front row union who kept the side on the front foot throughout. 

The other quarter final results were:

Cashel 14 Garryowen 29; Old Christians 17 Skibbereen 45; Clonmel  16  Thomond  13.

The pairings for the semi finals to be played on Sunday 25th March:

Semi Final: Garryowen v Cork Constitution (at Dooradoyle)

Semi Final: Skibbereen v Clonmel



Con Players:

D.O’Shea; E.O’Donnell, C.Desmond, G.Murray, S.Kelly; S.Murphy, A.Ryan; G.Murray Capt., K.Stokes, R.Hassan; Y.Browne, D.O’Brien; B.Vaughan, A.White, A.Ross. 

Con Scorers:

S.Murphy 1T3P3C; S.Kelly 1T; E.O’Donnell 1T; A.Ross 1T; C.Desmond 1T.

Kilfeacle Players:

D.Ryan;C.Walsh, P.Ryan, J.O’Sullivan, J.Featherstone; D.Lowry, G.Ryan; J.Mullane, J.O’Grady, S.BarrKilfeacle Scorers:

J.Featherstone 1T; G.Ryan 1P

Cork Constitution FC