Cork Con FC J1 17 - 6 Young Munster
Venue: Temple Hill
Competition: Munster Junior Cup
Match Report:

Cork Constitution overcame the challenge of Young Munster at Temple Hill on Sunday in a classic Munster Junior Cup 5th round tie. Rivalry between these clubs goes back many years, and while the final outcome was decisive in favour of the home side, the game was in the balance up to the final minutes. 

The initial exchanges were tentative before Munster’s out half O’Leary kicked a penalty on 23 minutes for the lead. Peter O’Sullivan equalised for Constitution on the half hour mark. The pace then began to quicken and O’Leary regained the lead for the Limerick men with a second penalty on 38 minutes. The Con forwards had the upper hand at set piece play with locks O’Brien and Browne, together with Alan Ross outstanding, but were failing to get the vital scores. 

The game was then held up as Con centre Cian McGovern sustained a dislocated elbow and had to be carefully removed from the pitch. In the ensuing play before half time, a player from each side was sin-binned to add to the tension. And Sean Murphy missed a penalty for Con to leave his side trailing 3-6 at the break.

In the second period, play went from end to end and side to side with neither defence cracking, and penalty chances went a begging on both sides. Then in the 75th minute Con spurned a penalty opportunity in front of goal and took the option to run. And from the second phase, out half Sean Murphy stepped his way over for a try. He converted for a 10-6 lead. A couple of minutes later, Alex Ryan, now playing at centre, forced his way forward from his own 22 metre line and eventually set up Conor Desmond on the left wing for the clinching score. Ironically, Murphy slotted the kick from the touchline, and Con were home and dry at 17-6. However, they did have to endure a late Munster’s rally and ended with 13 players, having conceded two players to the sin bin. 

In the quarter final Constitution will meet Kilfeacle at Temple Hill on Sunday 11th March.



Con Players:

D.O’Shea; E.O’Donnell, C.Desmond, C.McGovern, P.O’Sullivan Capt.; S.Murphy, A.Ryan; G.Murray, K.Stokes, R.Hassan; Y.Browne, D.O’Brien; B.Vaughan, A.White, A.Ross.

Con Scorers:

S.Murphy 1T2C; C.Desmond 1T; P.O’Sullivan 1P

Young Munster Players:
Young Munster Scorers:

Cork Constitution FC